Caramel Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
This cake was very well received by my family-the only drawback was that it took a long time and a lot of stirring to get the frosting ready, but when it was, it was absolutely delicious. I would make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I was surprised for two reasons: #1 when I first DL this recipe on Thanksgiving Day, there wer no ratings for it yet. So I was a little worried but wanted to try something different. #2 I was amazed ath the amount of sugar it called for in just the batter. But it came out great nice and moist, mildy sweet and nutty. It tasted great even without the frosting. Which I recommend you let cool to get a better consistency. The frosting is rich but really good... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I made this cake once before, but this was before i became a member of all recipes. This is a very good recipe.I will be using it. I saw where some of the viewers said it was a heavy cake, just try sifting the flour twice, and instead of frosting the whole cake I just used it as a glaze and it was very good. Another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This cake was very heavy, rich, and moist. I would consider this recipe for advanced, patient bakers. If using a tube pan with a removable bottom, wrap foil around the outside of it and place pan on a rimmed cookie sheet or it could leak all over the oven! After cooking the frosting, I transferred it to a pyrex bowl to speed up the cooling process, but it still took a good amount of stirring to get it to frosting consistency. I found it much too sugary sweet and next time would opt for drizzling each cake slice with a little caramel sauce and garnish with some fruit for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This poundcake tasted great (esp. the frosting) but was WAY to confusing to make. Read the entire recipe a few times before making this. Notice that under ingredients dark brown sugar and brown sugar are both listed but in the directions it doesn't indicate which one to use when. I believe dark brown is used in step 2. Good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Oh my goodness, I made this cake today for my family and everyone loved it. It was not dry at all as some members indicated. I did substitute buttermilk for the milk in the recipe. It was a little sweet but still good and moist. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This recipe was good, I used a 10' bundt cake pan, and the cake was overflowing in the oven, cake was everywhere. After the cake finish baking, it had sunk, and stuck to the pan... So what was left I put it in the cake pan. The icing was perfect, the cake was very moist, even though it is whop sided, but it is still good.. Could someone tell me what went wrong????!!! I will try again, I'm going to the store and purchase a 10' tube cake pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
The cake itself is absolutely wonderful - moist and dense and very flavorful. I too had problems with the frosting, but I always do with cooked frostings so I just used it as a glaze instead of an all-over frosting and thought it was just as good. I didn't have any pecans so left those out of the cake and thought it was just as good without. I would definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I chose to add 3/4 tsp of salt (the AIB coming out in me) to this recipe as others noted blandness in finished cake. It was still on the bland side...but quite edible and certainly moist. The frosting was absolutely scrumptious. I will no doubt give this recipe one more go with a few changes but the frosting recipe will be used again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
It was a bit too sweet for my taste. Though very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States