Caramel Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Excellet Cake! Mine did not turn out as pretty as the picture on the website, but the taste more than made up for the "ugly" presentation. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Rawson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trishinomaha
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This turned out to be a beautiful pound cake. It was dense but moist . The glaze was a little grainy but I think I could work on it to make it more smooth. The presentation was stunning - I love this bundt pan which I got from Williams-Sonoma is a real show stopper. It's not the most delicious thing I ever ate but my co-workers gobbled it down and really seemed to like it. Thanks Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My attempt at this cake fell - it was ugly, and i'm sure it was user error. However, i noted that many reviewers said that this cake is very "sweet". I suggest cutting the sweet with some salt, which makes for a more well-rounded flavor. I used unsalted butter and added 3/4 teaspoon of salt to the cake batter. I would try slightly more next time (i.e., 1 tsp). If you are using salted butter, you may only want to put in 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon more salt in the cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Savage Bassett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This cake is a hit. I loved it and so did my family. We hardly agree on anything as one when it comes to our different taste buds. I did a few things differently. I used 1 1/4 cup dark brown sugar and 1 1/4 white sugar in the cake. I also only used 1 cup dark brown sugar in the glaze and 3/4 cups of EV. milk instead of the half of cup. I kept everything else just the same. The icing was more like a caramel sauce. I cut slits all around the tower bundt cake and poured it over with a large spoon. I let it sit over night and it is amazing. It is sweet still so I am glad that I cut back the sugar. I am just not a big sugar lover but my husband and kids are so everyone is so happy with the amazing taste. New favorite for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was a smash at a dinner party I attended. Very rich but was more than enough for a group of 12 people. Everyone loved it. Only suggestion I have is to let it cool longer than the receipe states before trying to remove from pan. I tried after 15 minutes and it started to crumble and fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I seriously could have eaten the entire cake myself!! Perfect as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This cake was super easy and delicious. Great for caramel lovers like me. I did add a small box of vanilla jello pudding mix as others suggested, and since I prefer light brown sugar, I used that in place of the dark. Also no pecans since my daughter doesn't like them. Goes in my recipe file for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summertown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was wonderful. I cut back on the sugar, which I always do, and used a glaze of cooked butter, sugar, and heavy cream. It soaked into the warm cake and made it very moist. I will def. make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great pound cake. I was very glad to have a stand mixer as it made the thick batter much easier to mix. I made it without the pecans because I did not have any. I also did not put any frosting on it as I thought it would be sweet enough. It definitely was. The cake needed the full 90 minutes of cooking time. It came out with a nice crust on the top and a beautiful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was very good, but extremely rich and it made an enormous cake. I was worried about the frosting setting, but I left it to cool a second time after beating it a bit, and it turned opaque and solidified - a lot like fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo C

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States