Caramel Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I have never rated a recipe before, simply as all the recipes that I try from the site are fantastic, and much smarter cooks than I always give great feedback. However, one tip on this recipe was SO helpful--Linda Mc advised to put the popcorn in the pan to warm in the oven before adding the brown sugar mixture, and that was the KEY. The first batch (with cold popcorn) was a disaster, but with the warm popcorn in the roasting pan already, the mixing was a breeze and the batch was fantastic! Thanks to everyone for all the tips that are so helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Yummy! I reduced the butter to 1/2 lb like others suggested - perfect. I used a 12 quart stainless steel All-clad stockpot to pop kernels, make the caramel, and coat the popcorn (the pot was covered in oil from popping the corn and the caramel didn't stick - w/plenty of room to stir). Note: there is no way you would ever find me mixing this in my sink - impeccably clean as it is, the thought is repulsive to me! (no offense to anyone who thinks this is acceptable). Anyway, I poured the coated popcorn onto 2 silpat lined sheet pans (was fresh out of nonstick foil). I only baked one of the sheet pans because the kids begged me to let them keep eating the other one. For softer/chewy/shiny version, don't bake. For firm/crispy/non-shiny version, bake, but reduce baking time to 45 min. I used tongs to break up clumps while baking and cooling. We loved both versions. Hints: 1. Reduce butter in half. 2. Use a good quality, heavy pot. 3. If possible, avoid microwave popcorn. 4. Remove unpopped kernels before coating. 5. Keep popcorn warm in 250 oven until ready to coat. 6. Stir with a silicone spatula. 7. For softer/chewy/shiny version, don't bake. For firm/crispy/non-shiny version, bake, but reduce time to 45 min. 8. And most importantly, if you mix this in your sink, don't give any to me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I am rating this recipe again because I was eating so much of this popcorn, its wonderful, that when I saw the review from the person who cut the butter to 1/2 cup I had to try it before I gained 50 pounds. Understand I HATE to change something this good, afraid it won't be the same, but I have to say I can not tell the difference. I kept everything the same but only used a half cup butter. PERFECT!! I use 3 bags ACT II Old Fashioned Natural microwave popcorn. I have used more expensive popcorn but this works the best. Also, one thing I have learned after making so much of this popcorn is use a name brand brown sugar. I picked up a store brand once because thats all they had and the coating came out grainny. Now with half the butter I'll probably just eat more. YIKES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
795 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I've been making this same recipe for years, but I do it in the microwave. You put the popped corn in a paper grocery bag. Then you microwave the butter, sugar, vanilla, and corn syrup, letting it boil for one minute. Then stir the baking soda into the caramel mixture. Pour it over the corn in the bag and shake it up. Microwave the whole bag for about 30 seconds and shake it up again. Spread it out on a lined baking sheet to cool down. Tastes absolutely incredible, and done in under 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
583 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This recipe is the same one (minus the vanilla) my mother has been using for 20 years. There is another way to cook this - use the microwave. After mixing the popcorn and caramel, divide the corn into two paper grocery bags. Microwave each bag for 30 - 40 seconds, remove the bag from the microwave and shake it. Repeat microwaving and shaking for a total of 4 times for each bag. Open the bags carefully and spread out the corn to cool - breaking up any large pieces. Clean up is easy - just throw away the bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I've been making this recipe for years and it is always a favorite for both young and old. It tastes better than anything you can buy in the store. Here are my hints: 1. always use "golden" brown sugar, not the dark brown which is likely to burn. 2. bake it in a very large turkey roasting pan. It will all fit and still be easy to stir. 3. clean-up is very easy, just soak the pans for a minute in hot soapy water. All the hard candy just melts away. 4. Always buy double the ingredients(you'll be making it again the next day!) 5. If there is any left over, store in an air tight container or it will get soft. Make it once and it will be on your top 10 list too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
All I have to say is, I love it! I spread the popcorn out in the largest casserole dish I had, after coating with non-stick cooking spray, of course. I just poured on the carmel slowly and mixed it up as I went along. My friend also commented on how well everything was coated. "The trick is" I told her,"to drizzle and mix frequently, then work it with your greasy fingers to spread any big clumps." :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Blake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is absolutely the best caramel popcorn I have ever tasted. It is so much better than store bought. My entire family loved this popcorn, and it stays fresh for many days (I put it in a zip-loc bag). I only have 1 suggestion. Spray the pan with non-stick cooking spray so the popcorn doesn't stick to the pan. Thanks Brian! This recipe is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I was a little worried about what kind and how much popcorn to use when I saw this recipe. Do I use plain or butter? 2 bags? 3 bags? 4? I ended up using 3 bags butter popcorn, popped in the microwave. Picked out the kernels and cooked the rest on my jelly roll pan. DELICIOUS! I baked for about 40 minutes. Next time I'll bake it for the full hour because it was a little too sticky to enjoy without picking at my teeth the whole time and the think the extra 20 minutes will help harden it a little more. Also, next time I'll try plain popcorn b/c the butter seemed a little heavy. Still, it was wonderfull and we ate the whole bag in only 2 days. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Way to Go Brian! Perfect recipe! This caramel corn is the very best of the best! My friend, who has published 8 cookbooks thought she had the best of the best,so did I until I made this! I added 2 cups Deluxe Mixed Nuts and baked one hour as you suggested. PERFECT!!! AND EXTREMELY ADDICTIVE!Thanks for sharing this wonderful work of art!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States