Caramel Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I wanted to try these for a halloween party but I really expected them to be a flop. I'm not very good at making candy. However, they turned out great and it didn't take long either! Thanks to those who said it took 3 bags of microwave corn and to use plastic baggies on your hands-that really helped. Next time, I have to keep the kernels out! Also, I think I will use a brown paper grocery bag to mix the popcorn because I had to coat the corn in shifts because I didn't have a large enough bowl! Excellent recipe-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was fantastic. My whole family loved them. I used an air popper instead of cooking the popcorn over the stove. I also found it very easy to make into balls; I used ziplock sandwich size bags and put them over my hands. It kept the popcorn from sticking. This is one I will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Unbelievably yummy... I use 3 bags natural flavor microwave popcorn and they turn out perfectly. The perfect treat for kids AND adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdimom
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was a quick, wonderful recipe. As some suggested, I used microwave popcorn, but I only needed 2 bags (it's probably just a personal preference of how "carmel-y" you want your popcorn balls, I like em' sweet). I used Orville Redenbacher's "Smart Pop" (to save the calories - he he). Seriously GREAT recipe! PS - I also used one of the recipes for Sweetened Condensed Milk found on this site and it worked better than the real stuff! (cheaper too!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdimom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I listened to the other reviews and used half of the amount of popcorn that the recipe called for and they turned out great.... I took them to a child's halloween party and both the kid and adults loved them!!!! My boyfriend asked to me to make another batch. This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These were sooo good. My husband had a hankering for popcorn balls so we made these last week. I didn't have a candy thermometer on hand so I just guessed when the caramel was done. Maybe I just got lucky but it was perfect- made chewy popcorn balls just the way we like them. The caramel in this recipe is so good! I wanted to eat the whole pot without adding popcorn! We popped 1 cup of kernals and it made the perfect amount of popcorn for the caramel mixture. Baggies on hands was also a great idea for forming the balls. These are very sweet- you'll only need one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I used half the popping corn asked for and I ended up with 17 popcorn balls. I still used the same amount of caramel, so they would be extra good. These will definitely be used for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These were absolutely delicious! Lightly buttering my hands was a great idea and I just took the rest of the half of stick from the recipe to do that. Also, I just used microwave popcorn--three bags of it--instead of fussing with popping it the hard way. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very tasty & simple. I also used 3 bags of microwave kettle popcorn which made the recipe very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
These were very yummy! The carmel was quite hot, so it was kinda hard to make them into balls. Otherwise they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States