Caramel Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I wanted to try these for a halloween party but I really expected them to be a flop. I'm not very good at making candy. However, they turned out great and it didn't take long either! Thanks to those who said it took 3 bags of microwave corn and to use plastic baggies on your hands-that really helped. Next time, I have to keep the kernels out! Also, I think I will use a brown paper grocery bag to mix the popcorn because I had to coat the corn in shifts because I didn't have a large enough bowl! Excellent recipe-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was fantastic. My whole family loved them. I used an air popper instead of cooking the popcorn over the stove. I also found it very easy to make into balls; I used ziplock sandwich size bags and put them over my hands. It kept the popcorn from sticking. This is one I will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Unbelievably yummy... I use 3 bags natural flavor microwave popcorn and they turn out perfectly. The perfect treat for kids AND adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jdimom
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was a quick, wonderful recipe. As some suggested, I used microwave popcorn, but I only needed 2 bags (it's probably just a personal preference of how "carmel-y" you want your popcorn balls, I like em' sweet). I used Orville Redenbacher's "Smart Pop" (to save the calories - he he). Seriously GREAT recipe! PS - I also used one of the recipes for Sweetened Condensed Milk found on this site and it worked better than the real stuff! (cheaper too!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdimom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I listened to the other reviews and used half of the amount of popcorn that the recipe called for and they turned out great.... I took them to a child's halloween party and both the kid and adults loved them!!!! My boyfriend asked to me to make another batch. This is a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These were sooo good. My husband had a hankering for popcorn balls so we made these last week. I didn't have a candy thermometer on hand so I just guessed when the caramel was done. Maybe I just got lucky but it was perfect- made chewy popcorn balls just the way we like them. The caramel in this recipe is so good! I wanted to eat the whole pot without adding popcorn! We popped 1 cup of kernals and it made the perfect amount of popcorn for the caramel mixture. Baggies on hands was also a great idea for forming the balls. These are very sweet- you'll only need one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I used half the popping corn asked for and I ended up with 17 popcorn balls. I still used the same amount of caramel, so they would be extra good. These will definitely be used for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
These were absolutely delicious! Lightly buttering my hands was a great idea and I just took the rest of the half of stick from the recipe to do that. Also, I just used microwave popcorn--three bags of it--instead of fussing with popping it the hard way. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very tasty & simple. I also used 3 bags of microwave kettle popcorn which made the recipe very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
These were very yummy! The carmel was quite hot, so it was kinda hard to make them into balls. Otherwise they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States