Caramel Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Good, not too sticky. Greased hands with crisco helped to mold them. Added M&M's to them to make it fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYALLISONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I did make a few changes. Instead of 2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk, I used the whole can. (I don't like leftovers.) I used the Power Pop Microwave popper and did 5 batches of popcorn. I sprayed the pans that I used for the popped popcorn with Pam and then you don't need to butter your hands. I also kept the popped popcorn in the oven at 200 degrees until the caramel was cooked. I also cooked the caramel in the microwave until it was a medium hard ball when tested in ice water. This cuts the cooking time at least in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These were great! A little stickier than I remember Grandma making, but very good! I couldn't stand to see some of the condensed milk go to waste so, I "one-and-a-halfed" the recipe (if that's the right terminology?) ...Ended up using the whole can of milk this way. I already had my popcorn popped, so I used about 30 cups of popped popcorn. The best way to keep the caramel from sticking to my hands was to simply moisten my hands with water after every 3 or 4 balls, just had a bowl of water next to my work area. I also added some candy corn to about half of the balls - yum! I ended up making 46 "mini popcorn balls." I WILL use this recipe again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Using 3 bags of micro butter pop corn worked perfect. We couldn't find our candy thermometer, but just heated to soft ball stage (which you get to rather quickly) and that worked fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Please, please, please listen to those of uf who are telling you that you either need to cut the popcorn in half or double the caramel. I had 4 big pans of popcorn sitting out and divided the caramel amongst them. It was quickly evident I was not going to have enough caramel, so I just had to stir as best I could and ended up picking out the areas that had enough caramel to shape into balls. I ended up with a roaster full of popcorn leftover with no caramel on it. This is a rather thick caramel also and the popcorn balls I ended up with had more like blobs of caramel scattered throughout rather than an even coating. I would give this recipe 4 stars for the flavor and chewiness of the caramel, but I was so mad when I was trying to shape the dry corn into balls that I felt I had to deduct. Don't just assume, like I did, that a recipe with such a high rating has no major faults. I ended up with 26 4" balls even with all the wasted popcorn, so something is not right with the amounts since it supposedly makes only 15 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was the first recipe I have tried off this site. This was so easy and so good. I drizzled some melted chocolate on half of them and they tasted really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The flavor was good but the amount of popcorn far outweighed the amount of caramel. I made 28 popcorn balls and had two huge bowls of popcorn left with no caramel. Really easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andi.love.84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Super Easy, use paper bag to mix popcorn and carmel sauce so clean up is a snap. Use baggies on your hands to form balls. Oops forgot the vanilla. Excellent Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I would've liked these to be a tad sweeter and with more flavor. Just a tad bland. The only thing I changed was I cut the popcorn in 1/2 and I still got a full 16 balls out of the batch with double the caramel. Had I used the full amount of popcorn that the recipe calls for, there would've been very little caramel on the corn. Oh and I doubled the vanilla. Next time I may make a little more caramel with more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartmaddiegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I love these, my kids love these, people wait for me to hand them out every-year! I have made them with air-popped corn, pan-popped and microwave and all turn out well. If you air pop, be sure to add a bit of salt though. And do be careful to sort the unpopped kernels out though ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States