Caramel Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These are soooo good! They stay soft and chewy. The caramel is so good on it's own. We made a batch and after we tasted them we immediately doubled the recipe. That way you can use your whole can of sweetened condensed milk. I used just shy of three bags of microwave popcorn - two bags made them too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This recipe was great. Next time I would add salt to caramel mixture before pouring over the popcorn. I personally like a little bit of "salty" with my sweet. I air popped our corn, so probably if you were using microwave popcorn you wouldn't need to add salt. Also, the caramel was very sticky on the bowl after we scraped out all the popcorn we could, next time I will spray my bowl with pam before popping the corn into it and adding the syrup. We used sandwich bags on our hands and it worked great for keeping the popcorn from sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe is delicious! These popcorn balls have the BEST caramel flavor. You won't be disappointed. I made them last year around Halloween for work and this year EVERYONE was asking for them again. I used 3 bags of Microwave Popcorn instead of popping my own kernels, as recommended on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Good, not too sticky. Greased hands with crisco helped to mold them. Added M&M's to them to make it fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYALLISONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I did make a few changes. Instead of 2/3 cup sweetened condensed milk, I used the whole can. (I don't like leftovers.) I used the Power Pop Microwave popper and did 5 batches of popcorn. I sprayed the pans that I used for the popped popcorn with Pam and then you don't need to butter your hands. I also kept the popped popcorn in the oven at 200 degrees until the caramel was cooked. I also cooked the caramel in the microwave until it was a medium hard ball when tested in ice water. This cuts the cooking time at least in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These were great! A little stickier than I remember Grandma making, but very good! I couldn't stand to see some of the condensed milk go to waste so, I "one-and-a-halfed" the recipe (if that's the right terminology?) ...Ended up using the whole can of milk this way. I already had my popcorn popped, so I used about 30 cups of popped popcorn. The best way to keep the caramel from sticking to my hands was to simply moisten my hands with water after every 3 or 4 balls, just had a bowl of water next to my work area. I also added some candy corn to about half of the balls - yum! I ended up making 46 "mini popcorn balls." I WILL use this recipe again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Using 3 bags of micro butter pop corn worked perfect. We couldn't find our candy thermometer, but just heated to soft ball stage (which you get to rather quickly) and that worked fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Please, please, please listen to those of uf who are telling you that you either need to cut the popcorn in half or double the caramel. I had 4 big pans of popcorn sitting out and divided the caramel amongst them. It was quickly evident I was not going to have enough caramel, so I just had to stir as best I could and ended up picking out the areas that had enough caramel to shape into balls. I ended up with a roaster full of popcorn leftover with no caramel on it. This is a rather thick caramel also and the popcorn balls I ended up with had more like blobs of caramel scattered throughout rather than an even coating. I would give this recipe 4 stars for the flavor and chewiness of the caramel, but I was so mad when I was trying to shape the dry corn into balls that I felt I had to deduct. Don't just assume, like I did, that a recipe with such a high rating has no major faults. I ended up with 26 4" balls even with all the wasted popcorn, so something is not right with the amounts since it supposedly makes only 15 balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was the first recipe I have tried off this site. This was so easy and so good. I drizzled some melted chocolate on half of them and they tasted really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The flavor was good but the amount of popcorn far outweighed the amount of caramel. I made 28 popcorn balls and had two huge bowls of popcorn left with no caramel. Really easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andi.love.84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States