Caramel Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Kristine Joslyn
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
like many others reviewers, i used 3 bags of microwaved popped popcorn. this was SO GOOD!! will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Joslyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Port Gibson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
So easy, and delicious. I like to wrap them in plastic wrap in tie them up with dental floss, which you usually need later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Yummy. Easy to make and everyone loved them. Will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Jean Mosher
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
We didn't care for these popcorn balls at all. I reduced the popcorn as suggested by other reviewers, followed the candy recipe exactly and they were still dry with a very hard coating. I'm looking for a recipe similar to my grandmothers, which made a much chewier, tastier ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great popcorn ball recipe. I like that it is a carmel-flavored popcorn ball rather than the traditional candy. It is also pretty easy. Be sure to keep a close eye on the coating as it cooks. It needs to cook to a 'firm ball' stage. If you don't cook it long enough, it can be a little sticky and get in your teeth. Even if that happens, it tastes good and will likely be eaten up quickly. :) As with most popcorn balls, these are best fresh. They are also still pretty good a day or two later, but their shelf-life is not very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
USE PAPER BAG FOR MIXING POPCORN AND CARAMEL! Cleanup a breeze. We used that tip and also used plastic bags on our hands...no messy butter, no burns. We also did let the mix sit for maybe 3-5 minutes in bag before forming into balls...any earlier and they wouldn't "moosh" well. This recipe was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was a de-lish recipe. We made it for Halloween and had so much fun! Thanks for the reviewer who gave the great idea of mixing the popcorn and caramel in a big brown paper bag...that worked great but just suggest layer popcorn in the bag pour caramel mix, then layer more popcorn, caramel, mix etc. Turned out excellent except hard to get caramel to the bottom. Hopefully with layering technique should work better. DE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of five is that the amount of popcorn in the recipe is WAY too much for the amount of caramel that you get. We used 1 1/2 cups air popped and it was a little too much. A full 2 1/2 would have been tons. That being said, air popped popcorn does end up with more volume per cup of un-popped kernels, but I still think 2 1/2 cups would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow! Super good! I like lots of caramel, so I used 2 bags of microwave kettle corn. Cooked to a soft ball stage, as I also like them chewy. Definitely enough caramel by doing it this way! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was very easy to make! and a Huge hit! My hubby and kids LOVE them, Hubby took extras to work to share and could not part with them LOL..... thank you so much will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioMomof6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States