Caramel Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Sometimes you need that token christmas "gift" for neighbor's and casual friends. I usually do Spritz cookies, but wasn't really feeling that idea this year. For some reason I thought to do popcorn balls and having never done them before, I needed a recipe. I went back and forth between a few but ultimately decided on this one. I was slightly intimidated by the fact that I needed a candy thermometer but I decided to forge on a conqueror my fear of that because even thought that sounded a little complicated, the recipe was very use friendly and had many rave reviews to it's credit. The recipe was easy and yielded an awesome end result. A true winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made these today for my husband and granddaughters and they are wonderful. Very easy recipe to follow, the only things I changed was the amount of popcorn, I only used 1 1/2 cups unpopped popcorn and it was the perfect ratio to caramel and I also used dark corn syrup and dark brown sugar instead of light. I found it gave it such a nice old fashioned flavor. These are nice chewy, flavorful and easy popcorn balls. Just make sure you pick out any seeds left over before mixing and also to avoid a false reading on your candy thermometer do not let the tip touch the bottom of the hot pot. If you are going to use the amount of unpopped corn as stated I suggest doubling the caramel part of the recipe. I will definitely be making these for the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Agreed with others that you need far more of the syrup. (Don't cut the popcorn. That just doesn't make sense.) To those who it came out brittle, it is a very specific temperature. You cannot hit 239 or 240 or you have a brittle caramel when cooled. I probably hit 237 because I let it touch the bottom of the 238 line. I like gooey popcorn balls. As for the flavor...it was pretty good. Better than most. I remember a recipe when I was a kid that had a small amount of vinegar in them. Sounds bad, but gives the caramel a little twist that this seemed to be lacking. Unfortunately, that was long ago, and I would have no idea how much to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Way to much popcorn for the caramel mixture.... cut the popcorn by 2/3....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tacomatruck

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I think this recipe should read 1/2 cup of unpopped popcorn. A couple of hints would go a long way here too. Spray your measuring cups, spoons, and the large bowl or pan holding the popcorn with vegetable spray to make it easier. Also since you are working with blazing hot sticky candy, always keep a large bowl of ice water on your work station to plunge your hands or fingers in if you accidentally get some on your hands. Flavor of the caramel was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Carlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
So easy and tastes great! I used about 1 1/2 cups of unpopped corn and that was plenty for the amount of caramel sauce. But that's just personal opinion. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
The kernels didn't stick together because the ratio is off. Also my caramel was very pale despite following the directions. I ended up with a hot, somewhat sticky mess that I stirred a lot for a more even coat and called it plain caramel corn. Thanks to those who suggested adding salt. Also pretty good with chocolate chips sprinkled into the mess. Just wish it had held together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nardsbaby
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was perfect! The kids and I used microwave popcorn and we had a blast making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nardsbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by tridan101
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Turned out Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
It is very tasty but WAY too much popcorn. I cooked all the popcorn it said, and then had to triple the syrup to get enough to hold it all together. Either cut the popcorn in half or triple the syrup. Maybe double would work, but triple is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States