Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I wortked at O'Charley's restaturant and this is their recipe exactly - except they boil the large cans. I make this for family holidays using 2 small cans of low fat or fat free sweetented condensed milk. You have to put it in a bowl and "whip" it for a minute to get the lumps out. Everyone loves it! Try nuts and whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This pie is rich, delicious, and easy...a couple of tips though... It takes 2 cans to fill one pie crust, and make sure cans are completely submerged in the water at all times. If the water evaporates and leaves the top of the cans dry, the caramel will have uneven texture and may taste "grainy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
I didn't have a pie crust, but my curiosity got the better of me. After spooning a bit of the finished product into a small dish, I set it into the freezer for a few minutes to let it cool and thicken. While slowly savoring each and every delicious spoonful, one thought kept running through my mind- "Father, forgive me, for I have sinned..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Okay this recipe is close to the recipe the waitress gave me at O'Charleys restaurant but you use 2 cans cond. milk and only boil for 2 hours , you then cover with whipped topping and mini chocolate chips and pecan pieces. It is DIVINE !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Rich, rich, rich! To make the English "Banoffee Pie", add 1 1/2 pounds of sliced bananas on top of the caramel and top with fresh whipped cream with a small amount of instant coffee dissolved in it before beating. *CAUTION It is extremely important to add more boiling water frequently during the cooking of the sweetened condensed milk. 4 hours is a long time and if it is allowed to boil dry the can will explode causing a mess and possibly injury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It reminded me of O'Charley's Ooey Gooey Caramel pie. I made the sweetened condensed milk for 4 hrs and a day ahead of time so it would be just right to put in the graham cracker shell. I made it and after the first piece was taken out it started to run to the open space. Should I have whipped it with mixer or what. It was thick and creamy when I put it in the pie shell. I made sure to keep it refrigerated but it sunk in anyway. What can I do next time to keep it from sinking into the extra space? I want it to hold like pies should. Please tell me what I should do next time. E-mail me at lori76@cox.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
My curiousity got the best of me on this one and I had to give it a try. The previous reviewer is correct- the consistency when you are done boiling it is similar to cream of mushroom soup and is not asthetically pleasing. However, once it cools it resembles lemon meringue in consistency. And the taste is wonderfully rich and buttery! I topped it with cool whip, sprinkled some Heath candy pieces on top, and drizzled chocolate sauce over it. It looked great and tasted delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was the easiest thing I've ever made! It tasted amazing too. My husband loved it! I will second everyone's comments about using two cans though, one isn't enough. Also, I only boiled mine for 2.5 hours, not 4. The caramel was a perfect consistency and tasted great. I also took a handful of chocolate chips and stirred them into the caramel when it was still hot, so they melted and gave it a nice chocolaty taste. Just be careful when opening the cans. Wait until they've cooled down enough to where you can hold it in your hand and not burn yourself. Then after you puncture the can with the can opener, wait a second for the air (and a bit of caramel) to escape before you continue opening, otherwise you'll have caramel on your ceiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
AMAZING!! I've made this recipe many times but this is what you have to do. Boil 3 cans of sweetened condensed milk for 3.5 hours (add water as needed). Make sure the water is a rapid boil the entire time. Take the cans out and place on one end for 30 minutes - put upside down on the other end for another 30 minutes. Then open cans and place the "caramel" in a bowl and stir til smooth. Put in one large graham cracker pie shell or 8 small ones...ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So delicious but sooo rich. I cooked mine for four hours and it was nice and thick. Does anybody have any reservations about cooking in the can? There is a warning on the label... what kind of metal is it? Just found this... "Even if you've never had trouble, the Nestle and Eagle Brand Web sites recommend caramelizing the sweetened condensed milk in a different way. The stove-top method is this: Pour one can sweetened condensed milk into the top of a double boiler; place over boiling water. Over low heat, simmer 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. Beat until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States