Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This pie is a family favorite. It requires very little work and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
I didn't have a pie crust, but my curiosity got the better of me. After spooning a bit of the finished product into a small dish, I set it into the freezer for a few minutes to let it cool and thicken. While slowly savoring each and every delicious spoonful, one thought kept running through my mind- "Father, forgive me, for I have sinned..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
IT's very good but i subsituted the graham cracker pie crust for a regular one but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I followed the directions exactly and while the caramel tasted good, it had a terrible consistency, like cream of mushroom soup from a can, that made it difficult to spread. It also didn't fill up the shell. I won't be making this as a pie again, maybe as something layered in parfait cups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
My curiousity got the best of me on this one and I had to give it a try. The previous reviewer is correct- the consistency when you are done boiling it is similar to cream of mushroom soup and is not asthetically pleasing. However, once it cools it resembles lemon meringue in consistency. And the taste is wonderfully rich and buttery! I topped it with cool whip, sprinkled some Heath candy pieces on top, and drizzled chocolate sauce over it. It looked great and tasted delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This pie takes time but it is so easy and delicious when done. Well worth the preparation time. I shave some chocolate and caramels on top. Everyone I have ever made it for asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This recipe do not work at all for me. The condensed milk was so running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I make this pie all the time, everyone seems to love it. I use a regular flour crust, I think that a graham cracker crust would be too sweet. Cut it into small slices...it is very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I wondering if some of the other cooks didn't let the milk completely cool before judging pie. I let milk cool completely, apx. 3 hrs in the can, and then placed in the shell. Came out fine and was very rich and tasty. For sure will cure the sweet tooth! Spkinkled a sifting of cocoa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It reminded me of O'Charley's Ooey Gooey Caramel pie. I made the sweetened condensed milk for 4 hrs and a day ahead of time so it would be just right to put in the graham cracker shell. I made it and after the first piece was taken out it started to run to the open space. Should I have whipped it with mixer or what. It was thick and creamy when I put it in the pie shell. I made sure to keep it refrigerated but it sunk in anyway. What can I do next time to keep it from sinking into the extra space? I want it to hold like pies should. Please tell me what I should do next time. E-mail me at lori76@cox.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States