Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Rich, rich, rich! To make the English "Banoffee Pie", add 1 1/2 pounds of sliced bananas on top of the caramel and top with fresh whipped cream with a small amount of instant coffee dissolved in it before beating. *CAUTION It is extremely important to add more boiling water frequently during the cooking of the sweetened condensed milk. 4 hours is a long time and if it is allowed to boil dry the can will explode causing a mess and possibly injury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
i had no idea this was how you made caramel. it was excellent caramel. really rich, though. i think the pie is a little plain, but this gets 5 stars for showing me how ot make great caramel. just would be better with chocolate worked into the pie or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
advice...follow directions people! this is good if you like, and i mean really like caramel. when you initially pour out the caramel, it is a little soupish but it will not look like that when it's served. once topped with cool whip, it's beautiful. i gave 5 stars because it's exactly what the recipe says it is and easy to make but i personally thought it was bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Okay this recipe is close to the recipe the waitress gave me at O'Charleys restaurant but you use 2 cans cond. milk and only boil for 2 hours , you then cover with whipped topping and mini chocolate chips and pecan pieces. It is DIVINE !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I wortked at O'Charley's restaturant and this is their recipe exactly - except they boil the large cans. I make this for family holidays using 2 small cans of low fat or fat free sweetented condensed milk. You have to put it in a bowl and "whip" it for a minute to get the lumps out. Everyone loves it! Try nuts and whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It reminded me of O'Charley's Ooey Gooey Caramel pie. I made the sweetened condensed milk for 4 hrs and a day ahead of time so it would be just right to put in the graham cracker shell. I made it and after the first piece was taken out it started to run to the open space. Should I have whipped it with mixer or what. It was thick and creamy when I put it in the pie shell. I made sure to keep it refrigerated but it sunk in anyway. What can I do next time to keep it from sinking into the extra space? I want it to hold like pies should. Please tell me what I should do next time. E-mail me at lori76@cox.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I wondering if some of the other cooks didn't let the milk completely cool before judging pie. I let milk cool completely, apx. 3 hrs in the can, and then placed in the shell. Came out fine and was very rich and tasty. For sure will cure the sweet tooth! Spkinkled a sifting of cocoa on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I make this pie all the time, everyone seems to love it. I use a regular flour crust, I think that a graham cracker crust would be too sweet. Cut it into small slices...it is very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This recipe do not work at all for me. The condensed milk was so running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This pie takes time but it is so easy and delicious when done. Well worth the preparation time. I shave some chocolate and caramels on top. Everyone I have ever made it for asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States