Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
A family favorite since I was a child!!! Definately keep up the water level. So good with some Vanilla Bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This turned out excellent for me! I boilded my can of sweet condensed milk for 3 hours instead of 4. The caramel set nicely for me. I didn't have any problems with it being "soupy" as a few others mentioned. I did briefly whip the caramel and then I topped the whipped topping with chopped pecans that I sauteed in butter with a dash of salt. Oh, and I only used 1 can of caramel. I suppose you could use 2 cans if you want more filling, but due to the richness, I didn't think it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So delicious but sooo rich. I cooked mine for four hours and it was nice and thick. Does anybody have any reservations about cooking in the can? There is a warning on the label... what kind of metal is it? Just found this... "Even if you've never had trouble, the Nestle and Eagle Brand Web sites recommend caramelizing the sweetened condensed milk in a different way. The stove-top method is this: Pour one can sweetened condensed milk into the top of a double boiler; place over boiling water. Over low heat, simmer 1 to 1 1/2 hours or until thick and caramel colored. Beat until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
SO good! I added 4 bananas, chopped, on top of the caramel, then the whipped cream. Such a great flavour combo! I also used regular pastry, I thought graham craker would be toooo sweet. Delish! Also, I think 4 hours was maybe alittle too long for the caramel. Maybe 3 or 3.5 would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaitlynChapman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Wonderfully Rich! I used 2 cans as others recommended. I used real whipping cream instead of frozen whipped topping. I served it with chopped pecans and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbuske

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I found I had to boil the cans much longer... I'm not sure if its because I used fat free condensed milk or what, but they were delicious. The first few were fail, due to the fact that the caramel was not solidified. The next time I cooked them much longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
easy to make but your house becomes a steam room. just a small pointer let the cans cool for a bit before opening them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Awesome and easy. I used an Oreo cookie crust and topped with the Sweetened Whipped Cream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was the easiest thing I've ever made! It tasted amazing too. My husband loved it! I will second everyone's comments about using two cans though, one isn't enough. Also, I only boiled mine for 2.5 hours, not 4. The caramel was a perfect consistency and tasted great. I also took a handful of chocolate chips and stirred them into the caramel when it was still hot, so they melted and gave it a nice chocolaty taste. Just be careful when opening the cans. Wait until they've cooled down enough to where you can hold it in your hand and not burn yourself. Then after you puncture the can with the can opener, wait a second for the air (and a bit of caramel) to escape before you continue opening, otherwise you'll have caramel on your ceiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I had a caramel pie years ago, so glad to have this recipe. I was told that once you boiled the cans you can leave them on the shelf. Does anyone know if that is true and how long. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States