Caramel Pecan Turtle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A little time-consuming but a delicious and pretty cookie. Only thing to watch, the caramel will continue to spread, even after cooling. Some of the cookies ended up looking a little sloppy because of it. Keep them level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
They were ok but the cookie was a little to sweet for me. You also need a lot more than 30 pecan halves I think they might have ment 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Made_in_Michigan
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wow. NICE cookie. My only change was to change the chocolate to a chocolate ganache drizzle. This is a definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Made_in_Michigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
These turned out great! A very pretty cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I liked the idea of recreating the pecan turtle into a cookie so I added this to my Christmas cookie line-up this year. Since I was preheating the oven anyways I took the opportunity to toast the pecans on a baking sheet for 5-10m which really brought out the flavor and gave them crunch. Knowing I wouldn't have enough pecans I set out to only place one in each cookie center. For the cookie dough, I reduced the white sugar by 1/2 cup as one reviewer stated they were too sweet alongside the toppings. I wished I had also reduced the flour by 1/2 cup as they did not turn out as soft and chewy as I had hoped. I didn't see that comment until it was too late. The dough was remarkably easy to roll out and work with. I'm used to butter based recipes so it was nice not having to rush thru and continual chill the dough scraps. I rolled my second batch slightly thicker and baked exactly 5min because the first were not only dry and very crisp. I didn't have too much trouble with the caramel running off but next time I would wait for it to set a bit before placing the pecan in the center. They had a tendency to get dragged off to the side. Just don't want too long so the caramel isn't too hard. All and all definitely a good looking cookie that will round out my Christmas platter. Next time I'll heed this advice to improve the cookie texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
For some reason rolling out cookie dough is something I have not been able to be successful at. After chilling the dough I dropped by rounded tablespoons on to the cookie sheet. Then flattened with the bottom of a small class dipped in flour. After cooling I put on the caramel, then one half of a pecan and drizzled with chocolate. -YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Cookie was a huge hit. Next time I make it I will reduce flour by 1/2 C...dough was too dry. You need at least 3X the pecans the recipe shows. You need more chocolate. I will also make my own caramel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Too sticky on your teeth, but good tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Okay so this cookies is super good! BUT it is time consuming and the caramel, chocolate topping, and pecans ran a short. I followed the reciepe but, came up with a whole zip lock bag full of plain cookies. I would say to double those ingredients to make sure you have enough toppings... AND one more tip: Make sure you refridgerate them because they are a messy cookie because of the caramel.... :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
good, worth doing again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States