Caramel-Pecan Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this was amazing! a unique and delicious twist on pumpkin pie that everyone loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjoydb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this with squash instead of pumpkin. Cut the squash in half and laid the cut sides down in a pyrex dish, added 1-2 inches water, and microwaved until soft, 8 minutes at a time, then test for softness. Scoop out and discard seeds, then scoop out flesh and puree in a food processor. I added 17 minutes to the first baking time, because it seemed way too undone to be adding a topping at that point. For the topping, I used 1 1/2 cups of whole pecans. Remove the foil from the crust before the last 20 minutes of baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Nice twist to a pumpkin pie. This was amazing! Served this for dessert after a dinner with my Aunt and Uncle and it disappeared! Everyone claimed they were too full but after one try, they even went for seconds! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
First, let me say, I am NOT a great pie baker - this pie, however, has saved me! I got rave reviews this weekend! Comments were so positive - it was not too sweet, the topping added just the right texture and it was a nice twist on the traditional pumpkin pie! So easy to do - I even made a homemade crust! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I now make this for EVERY holiday!!!! It was the most delicious cake I have ever made. Be sure to follow the directions to a T though it does not leave room for error!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and incredibly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
My sister and I weren't too crazy about this pie. The crust came out sort of soggy, and the pumpkin filling was almost a custard/pudding consistency - which I wasn't expecting. The topping was good, but I didn't like the taste of the pumpkin filling. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
First off, I HATE pumpkin pie, I hate it so much you'd think I was allergic. I can not recall any holiday where I've subjected myself to consuming this gooey orange colored mass of spices. However, my family LOVES pumpkin pie, and since I play chef every Thanksgiving...I thought I'd give this recipe a trial run before the eating extravaganza comes around this year. I had to taste test of course...what a tasty crunchy explosion of fall flavor! Not only was it simple to put together, but it was terribly yummy. I'm looking forward to unveiling this pumpkin-pie treasure this coming holiday season... I may even pair it with some Jeni's "Maker's Mark/Buttered Pecan" icecream to make for a decadant pie ala mode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
DELICIOUS!!! What a great variation from the traditional pumpkin pie. The perfect blend of two great holiday pie flavors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Alta Loma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Not only was this pie easy to make, but came out of the oven looking beautiful and tasting fabulous. I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and everyone loved it. The crunchy pecan topping on the pumpkin was just delicious! A nice change from plain pumpkin pie. The only thing I did was adjust the spices--I doubled them, and also added about half a teaspoon of cinnamon to the topping. I'm going to make this pie again very soon, since there weren't any leftovers for me to bring home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States