Caramel Pecan Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
very sweet. I would not add any icing or powered sugar on top as the cake is sweet enough without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Yes I made a change to the recipe. I did not have pecans and I made a caramel icing. The cake turned out very good and was a big hit with my wife! I was impressed myself with how it looked and tasted. Thanks for the recipe, definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
very course and no flaver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I thought this tasted better then it sounded. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
yum! this was delicious! i love to bake and try to as much as i can, and my dad said that this was one of the best things I've ever made! thanks for the recipe, it was easy and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chalkalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Followed recipe exactly. Cake was moist and delicious - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Zac
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Simply delicious!!! I read the reviews as I always do and decided to add a sm. box of instant vanilla pudding to the dry ingredients. Also I uses 1/2 & 1/2 milk instead of regular milk.I had to use a little more milk than the recipe called for since I added the instant vanilla pudding (about a 1/4 of a cup, you can use your judgement). I also sifted my flour. It came out very very moist with a good caramel flavor. As far as the glaze I just cooked some low fat sweetened condensed milk until it turned to caramel. I then added butter/margarine (just a few pats) and added 1/2 & 1/2 milk to get it to the consistency I needed. I drizzled the caramel sauce/glaze (while it was still warm) over the cake . If you use this caramel sauce make sure you put in enough milk, once it cools it will set up pretty thick. I baked it about 5 min longer also. This is one of my favorite cakes to make now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Zac

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this cake and added a box of vanilla pudding in the mix and used half and half instead of the milk. When the cake was still warm I took a knife and made small slits over the top of the cake. Then I made a caramel glaze and slowly poured over the top of the cake allowing it to fill the slits. OH MY GOSH!!! This cake not only looked pretty but it smelled divine. It tasted awesome! I have much love for this recpie and will use it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bemac

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I love this cake , this is the first time I make a cake and it was so e.z. The was only my house two days,making it again this weekend. Thank's Walt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This cake was just ok. Not the caramel taste I was expecting. Also the cake itself was not that sweet, but that part was ok for me. I also used a caramel pecan sauce which made up for the not so sweet cake. Southern Charm in Memphis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States