Caramel Peanut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I worked this recipe into my Christmas baking day and it was so worth it! Out of all the goodies I shared, this was everyone's favorite. Here are the tips that helped make it the best and easiest: use parchment paper so that it comes out of the pan easier, put each layer into the freezer to harden so that it speeds up the wait time, present the candy in cupcake cups, and use butterscotch chips in only one of the layers--I put it only in the bottom layer because it has a very dominating flavor. I substituted 1/4 C. choc. chips for the butterscotch in the top layer. Remember that a 7 oz. jar of marshmallow cream = 1 1/2 C. I warmed this in the microwave first so that it came out easier. This isn't something you want to make when time or patience is limited, but I hope these tips make it a little easier! Oh, have I mentioned that this is delicious?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
This fudge is delicious! Just a few notes to help save time: A 7 oz. jar of marshmallow creme is 1 1/2 cups, and I microwaved the carmel and cream in a microwave safe bowl with great results. Just be sure to heat it on medium heat and stir frequently until melted and smooth. I must agree that the carmel does ooze out of the rest of the layers-I'll try the mini muffin cups. Also, I thought the top and bottom layers tasted too much like butterscotch-I'll omit the butterscotch chips next time and substitute additional milk choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was really good! It was difficult to cut, but other than that fantastic. I read about everyone's trouble with the caramel layer, so here is what I did: I melted the caramels in the microwave with 2 tbsps of milk, stirring every 30 seconds to one minute. (It only takes about 2-3 minutes to melt them) and then spread them on top of the nut layer. I have had no problems with the layers sliding apart or the caramel oozing. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I have made these for years and they are good. However, instead of using a one pan I use mini muffin cups and fill them individually with each layer. Also, you will find the layers won't fall apart if you DON'T freeze them first. And since the cups are so little, the layers set up pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I've made this many times now, always make it at Christmas time. It has one top prize at two different holiday parties now. I dont use quite as much butterscotch as it calls for, I feel it overpowers it, and I always line the dish with parchment paper. (first time I didn't and it was a nightmare trying to get it off the dish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I've been making this recipe for 3 yrs. It's expected at Christmas now. Although I did make some changes I use Peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch. I used dove milk chocolate instead or milk chocolate chips, more expensive but seem creamier. I use whole peanuts I don't chop mine. This fudge needs to be kept cold it melts very quickly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This was wonderful. Everyone wanted the recipe! I read the reviews and lined my pan with parchment paper, cut the squares and served them in paper cupcake liners. By accident I used semi-sweet chips instead of milk chocolate and it was great. (I like dark chocolate anyway.) I did use butterscotch chips in only one layer. Putting it in the freezer between layers made the process much faster. (Be aware that when you add another layer it will cool quickly on the frozen layer--be ready and work quickly.) I agree with a few people that it isn't exactly like a snickers, but who cares! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Wieser Gust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Tastes delicious, however prep time is inaccurate. This takes quite awhile to prepare, mainly because the chill time for each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAL R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This recipe was excellent! I have to admit it was time consuming because you had to chill each layer, but it was SO worth it! will make again, and again, and again.. oh.. and again! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! It really does taste like Snickers. Everyone that tried it wanted the recipe! I followed this recipe exactly with one exception...I used only milk chocolate chips for the top and bottom layers. I put it in the freezer to hasten the chill time and it was ready in under 2 hours! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States