Caramel Peanut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I wouldn't really call this fudge. It's rather a candy, and a chewy one at that. I stuck the pan out in the snow between layers to get it to harden faster, and that sped up the process quite a bit. I didn't have any evaporated milk or heavy cream, so I subbed vanilla ice cream for each of those items. I only put butterscotch in the bottom layer, and I think that if I had put it in both, it really would have been too overpowering. I liked this one quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was really good! It was difficult to cut, but other than that fantastic. I read about everyone's trouble with the caramel layer, so here is what I did: I melted the caramels in the microwave with 2 tbsps of milk, stirring every 30 seconds to one minute. (It only takes about 2-3 minutes to melt them) and then spread them on top of the nut layer. I have had no problems with the layers sliding apart or the caramel oozing. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Krizan Reale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
It's not your classic fugde. It's more like a homemade Snickers Bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalimuffin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I made this for a block party and there was a good amount of people there, maybe 100. Before the block party was half over, the fudge was gone! I was only able to take 8 pieces with me, for me and my husband! Honestly this recipe is sinful, it is now officially my holiday/anytime recipe! Thank you to the creator of this wonderful fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agrimony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I thought the peanut butter and caramel balanced each other out very well. It also gave a delicious taste, to the fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
tastes great, but they always have to be refrigerated so they're hard to entertain with. can't leave out on the counter. will find a different recipe, one that I can give as gifts or leave out at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe is wonderful! It absolutely tastes like a homemade Snickers. It definitely is time consuming but well worth the effort. I used that new Reynolds foil that has the easy release side and lined my pan with that, so then I could just lift the whole thing out of the pan and it was easy to cut into pieces. I refrigerated overnight and then let the pan sit out for a bit before I tried cutting them and it worked fine. Now they're back in the fridge ready to make an appearance at my holiday gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving dessert and EVERYONE loved it! I ended up making a second batch the next day for us at home and am planning to add this recipe to my traditional Christmas baking! WAY TO GO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These are yummy, but I too think that I did something wrong! It was very difficult to get the squares out of the pan and when left at room temperature the caramel layer "melted" and I was left with a blob of caramel with a chocolate layer on the bottom and top. Trying to remove the squares when they were quite cool seem to work best, but did not solve my "melting" problem. I wish they had worked :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I think I might have done something not right. It was very hard to get out of the pan in those small pieces. It came out but the top and bottom layer was very hard to keep attached to the whole piece. It was good though even when it fell off we ate those pieces too! Definite potential here! Reminded me of a snickers bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Farahmandi Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States