Caramel Oatmeal Pudding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I'm sorry, these just didn't work for us. My son and I followed the recipe exact and it though it set up, it did not set up enough like a no-bake would. You'd go to pick it up and it would fall apart. Also, what we did try, it was way too sweet. Even for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is the recipe for the cookies my friends call "crack" cookies as you can't stop eating them. VERY IMPORTANT-IT IS 3 1/2 C OATMEAL. Let the mixture stand 15 minutes before spooning out. Cool in fridge at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Complete waste of ingredients . I have try this twice to be sure that I did not make a mistake but this recipe is just wrong. Cookies never set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Mine set up just fine-- I popped them right into the freezer to let them harden fast. They're kind of gooey, but that's okay. My problem is that they're at once too sweet and too buttery. Not usually a problem for me, I admit, but these are just overpowering. I'd recommend cutting the sugar and the butter to about 1 1/4 cups sugar and maybe less than 1/2 cup butter. The butterscotch pudding just puts too much butter flavor in-- if you use chocolate, you could add the butter back in, I guess. Maybe if you added some salted peanuts to this, it would make a cool salty/sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
First of all, I think it should be 3 1/2 cups of oatmeal. Also, the first time I made it I used a 12 oz can of evaporated milk instead of a 5 oz can - and it WAS way too much liquid. My kids loved the flavor and softness of this cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
First of all, I read all the reviews and I used 1/2/3 cup sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 2/3 cup evaporated milk (but then I realized 5 oz. was 1/2 cup + 1 TBLS). then It said to only cook until boiling, but I cooked it a few min. on med. heat. I added the pudding, but also added 1 tsp vanilla, and 3 1/2 cups oatmeal. The butter was unsalted and I thought I could have used salt, but because the pudding has salt, I didn't. I was going to garnish with a salted peanut. After all these alterations, my cookies seem sticky and not set, but it's only been about a half hour. They are very good, kinda like a payday bar. I would make them again. As one of the other reviews, I made these to go along with chocolate peanut butter no bakes, which did set up and are not sticky. Maybe its the pudding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
these are actually pretty good... make sure you only put 1/2 of the can of milk and i would do almost 4 cups of oatmeal. a hit in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
The cookies never "set". Too much liquid in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Tried these out. Very tasty, although quite sweet. I wonder if other flavors of pudding would work as well? also, chilling them in the frig seems to make them less sticky for fingers while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Here are some tips from myself and other reviewers: increase oats to 3.5 to 4 cups, add teaspoon vanilla, let cookies cool in a cold place (not on the warm kitchen counter), and make sure you use 5 fl. oz. of milk and not the whole 12 oz. can. I used chocolate pudding (yes it makes it very sweet) but I think any flavor would be good in this cookie. A very good no-bake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Arce
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States