Caramel Macchiato Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This ice cream is good. No - I mean, this ice cream is GOOOOD. Holy moly, I never expected it to be this delicious! I've never had the Caramel Macchiato drink (although I just may be tempted to now), so I have no clue if this ice cream tastes like it, but I'm telling you, unless you really detest coffee you will love this. No, I take that back - even if you don't like coffee, you will love this. The pairing of caramel and coffee flavors is just simply, dreamy delicious - something new for me. I like my ice cream rich (and most often with eggs) so I used half-and-half instead of the milk. Also, I've made ice cream often enough to know that a full cup of sugar would be waaaay too sweet, so I cut it back to 3/4 cup and it was simply perfect. In fact, everything about this ice cream is simply perfect! It is so rich, creamy and gooey it needs no topping or any other embellishment. I didn't even wait for it to ripen (harden) in the freezer before eating it. Because after trying a taste of it, I couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Oh YUM! I'm not so much a fan of the drink, but love coffee ice cream so I figured I'd give this a go. I used FF half and half instead of milk because I wanted a creamier ice cream, but otherwise kept the ice cream portion of the recipe the same. I chilled in the fridge for 4 hours, then processed it in my kitchen aid with the ice cream attachment. While it was going and I was digging through my cabinet for the caramel, I had a stroke of delicious evil genius...I used Nutella instead of the caramel! I nuked about 4 TBSP to melt and stirred THAT into the ice cream. My husband is sitting next to me licking the bowl. 5 stars from him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for my coffee-loving husband, whose favorite drink at the coffee shop is a caramel macchiato. Personally, I don't drink coffee, nor do I really enjoy ice cream. But after making this, I had to give it a taste, and Naples was right - even if you don't love coffee, you will like this ice cream. I had a tiny bite, and another bite, and another.... My husband said that it is so much better than the caramel macchiato ice cream from the store. Compliments to the recipe submitter - this one is definitely a hit in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
FANTASTIC! Made as written and would not change a thing. Simply delicious, and one I'll be making very often! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very Very Very Good.I used Creamy Fudge Dessert Sauce instead of Caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Yummy! I used 2% milk, 1tsp coffee extract, 3/4 c sugar and 2c of light cream. Will do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Wow!! I agree with Christine...I followed this exactly. No need to change a thing. These are two of my favorite flavors together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very Good. I used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Shut up! I love this. I am the happiest pregnant woman in the all the world right now. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead and heavy cream and it is so amazing. Yum. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
We just made this along with 4 other flavors of homemade ice cream and this was our favorite! I found some instant coffee at the store that came in single serve packets and it was hazelnut flavored! I think that added to the greatness of this wonderful recipe! It took 4 single serve packs to make 2 tbsn. We mixed thick caramel topping into the ice cream just before putting into the freezer. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States