Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this twice in 2 weeks. First time I followed the recipe exactly and I used instant espresso. It was so smooth and silky, my co-workers said it was the best cake I ever made. The next time I made the instant espresso stronger and I didn't use a water bath. I don't know if it was the quality of the coffee but I didn't like the stronger taste (and I LOVE coffee). Also the crust tasted burnt without the water bath. My guests & husband loved it though. I will stick with the original recipe for a 5 star cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is absolutely incredible! Definitely go with the espresso, a double shot is the perfect amount, just a touch over 1/4 cup. I had a pan of water on the bottom rack of my oven preheating left it in there. Only had one tiny crack, very impressive!! The caramel and whipped cream cinched it! Brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I'm not sure what went wrong but my cheesecake didn't turn out so well. Maybe I should have used the waterbath like other users had suggested. I tried baking it the way the recipe was written and my cheesecake turned a golden caramely brown on top (but it didn't taste very appetizing). The inside was good but the fact that the top was almost "burnt" looking and we had to scoop out the edible insides, made it a little strange for my taste. I'm not giving up though and will try a water bath next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Amazing cheesecake! I took a chance and did not do the waterbath and it turned out Beautifully!! I've made a lot of cheesecakes and this is probably the prettiest one I've ever baked. I'll be posting a picture shortly. I did make sure to leave it in the oven for the recommended amount of time after baking to prevent cracking. I followed this recipe to a "T" and I wouldn't change a thing in the future. It tasted even better the second day after baking! I'll make this one again and again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This cheesecake is absolutely FABULOUS! It lives up to its name! If you are a Starbucks fan and favor Caramel Macchiatos, you will love this, guaranteed! Do make sure to add whip cream,and caramel topping, it gives it the whole kick! I advise highly a waterbath, to prevent cracking and drying out. Truthfully, I always do waterbaths on all my cheesecakes, it saves the heartache of a flop cheesecake. This is for 100% guaranteed sure ,one of my favorites now! And do make sure you use cold Espresso in this recipe for its full flavor, I made mine in advance and let it sit in the fridge while I prepared everything else! Like I said, this is a dream come true for cheesecake lovers and Caramel Macchiato fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This is a GREAT cheesecake and it tasted exactly like a Caramel Macchiato! I have made it twice (no water bath)--one cracked and one didn't, BOTH delicious! I forgot to go to Starbucks for the espresso. Here's how I got my coffee strong enough: I ground it very fine and used a french press with 3X more coffee than necessary for the amount of water used and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Man this good cheesecake. I love a good carmel macchiato from Starbucks and this tastes JUST like one. I got a better review on this dessert than any other I have ever made ( and I bake often). The only problem/complaint that was probably my fault is that the texture wasnt creamy and smooth. It was kind of...eggyish. But that is probably because I didn't bake it in a water bath. All in all, this is one of the greatest foods to touch my plalette :) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Okay, there must be something wrong with me. This didn't turn out well at all. It was one of the worst tasting cheesecakes I have ever had. I have to think it was something I did since everyone else seems to love this cheesecake. I gave it two stars because I did like the graham cracker crust (which I am normally not a fan of). I used cinnamon graham crackers. Other than that, I don't think this cheesecake has any redeeming qualities. I may try making it again, though, just to be sure it wasn't user error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was wonderful... I made homemade caramel sauce- used approximately 1/4 cup in the batter by fillign the crust half way with the batter then dropping in large drops of the caramel sauce. i then took a butter knife and swirled the drop throughout the batter. I repeated this again after adding the remainder of the batter to the shell. I love Starbucks Caramel macchiatos and this sure did take care of my Starbucks fix for the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
OH MY GOOOODNESS YES! First.. I thought I was only a true lover of the dense new york style which this really isn't and second.. we used a brand new springform and didn't know til I was putting it into the fridge to chill that the fit of bottom to sides was imperfect and so.. water would have gotten in.. and it did. .a little .. most of my crust was imperfect but not inedible.. AND STILL this is a 5 STAR cheesecake. MAKE THIS CHEESECAKE!! While eating it we were figuring out the next event where it will be a must on the menu!! My mother in law was saying this will be a must have at every holiday. Seriously.. this is Oh My G** good!! I will cut back a little on the sugar next round to see if I prefer it a little less sweet.. but that's it. Thank you bunches for posting this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States