Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Yum yum yum!!! My family loves coffee and dessert so this is the absolute best combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baker lover: Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I have a few problems with this recipe. First, if you have it without the caramel, you can taste the coffee. It's a delicate flavor but definitely there. To achieve this flavor I bought some decaf french roast and double brewed it on the strong setting. (I am sensitive to caffeine but love the flavor of coffee.) But once you add the caramel, it overpowers the flavor and it's much harder to taste. Second, the baking time is wrong. I've made cheesecakes a few times and usually I bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes. But given that the ingredients in this one had added liquid from coffee and a full cup of sour cream, I thought I should do as the author instructed and did it at 325 for 1hr and 5 mins. My cheesecake was overcooked. A cheesecake should not appear browned anywhere and the top of mine was getting browned after an hour. I did bake it in a water bath, even with that I had this odd experience of it not sinking in the middle but rather it was high along the edge with a dip just inside that then rose to the center. I also did everything I could not to over beat. The cheesecake was also not smooth and creamy - perhaps this was in part due to being over baked. For my preference, the crust is also double what I needed. What saved this for me was the caramel sauce, but mine was not store bought. With the addition of a nice caramel sauce, I would give it 3 stars. As written it is a 2 star recipe. It sounds nice, but falls short of what it promises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I want to thank all the reviews about the water bath because now it comes out PERFECT! If you would like to see a video, showing how to make this cheesecake go to http://allrecipes.tv/whatscooking/janesville_wi.aspx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Baked it in a water bath like other reviewers said and it turned out PERFECTLY! It was my first cheesecake attempt, and I could not have been happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This was absolutely the perfect cheesecake :) Made just a few changes (sandies cookies instead of graham crackers to avoid hydrogenated oils, and let the entire cake chill for 24 hours) and it came out flawless. No cracks, no lumps, firm, and delicious! I made it for a BBQ, and everyone gobbled it up so fast. Honestly - best dessert I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura L
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is the most delicious dessert ever. I decided to make a chocolate crust using chocolate teddy grahams, sugar, and butter. This was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Cheesecake is creamy and not too overpowering with the coffee flavor. Even my kids and I, who are not coffee drinkers, enjoyed this cheesecake. But my husband, who is a self-professed coffee addict, loved this cheesecake. Make sure to leave enough time to chill this before serving, and get a really good caramel sauce, not an artificially flavored one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
My 14 year old daughter made this last night. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very good flavor. The caramel overpowered the wonderful coffee flavor so it would be a good idea to mix in some instant coffee powder to the whipped cream, however the cheesecake can stand alone without the caramel in my opinion. Also the cook time wasnt enough and it being my first cheesecake I followed the directions exactly. I would give it an additional fifteen minutes. All in all very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I had high hopes for this because of the rave reviews, but I thought it was nothing special. I made it for my parents who are caramel macchiato fanatics and they did not enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States