Caramel Macchiato Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by javaroot2
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Great new twist on a banana recipe. Two changes to share: I added only 1/4 cup caramel coffee creamer and a heaping 1/4 cup of caramel sauce (think ice cream topping). Also, for those that said the coffee flavor was mild...try Starbucks Via microbrew packets. Just 2-3 of those packets will give you a powerful coffee punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This makes great muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.A.Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Awesome flavor combo! I made a few changes to fit our lifestyle and ingrediants I had on hand. I subbed applesauce for half the butter, disolved the coffee in 1/4c of water, and stirred 2T of powdered caramel vanilla creamer into the flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The bananas I used for this recipe were small, so I wasn't sure if the taste of the bananas would come through, so I added a 1/2 teaspoon of banana extract. The baking time was right on. The bread was done baking within 60 minutes. Had trouble with the frosting, so next time I'm going to use a brown sugar frosting I've been using for years to top banana bars, or I thought I'd make a powdered sugar glaze, and add a bit of the Caramel Macchiato creamer to it. Whether you frost or opt to frost this bread, I do think this is one of "the best" tasting banana breads I've had in a long time. I do however, think the 2 tablespoons of instant coffee, gave the bread somewhat of a bitter coffee taste to it, so next time I'm only going to add 1-tablespoon. From now on when I make banana bread, I'm going to use this recipe, as it's a keeper! Thanx for the recipe Dianne! 4/29/2013: In regards to the coffee creamer to use in this recipe... This morning I happen to do a taste test between Coffee-Mate's Caramel Macchiato and International Delight's Caramel Macchiato. Over all, I prefer the Coffee-Mate's brand, it has a really good caramel flavor, (while the other brand does not), and it's not overly sweet as the International Delight brand is. The Coffee-Mate only has 5 grams of sugar, the International Delight has 6 grams. I'm so glad I did this taste test, so now I know which brand of flavored creamers I'm going to select when shopping at the stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made this for my grandparents and it was good if you have a sweeter taste for breakfast. Some of the family enjoyed it while others passed as they didn't like the glaze. I would recommend to bake two loafs. One with the glaze and one without. Make sure to watch the glaze as I had a hard time getting the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
OMG, so delicious! I couldn't find the caramel macchiato coffee creamer so I used toffee vanilla instead, yummy! Can't wait to make it again with the caramel creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Still not sure about it. I will let it sit a day and see if the flavor changes. Its ok, but I don't know if I will make it again. I have yet to make the glaze. **Update* I didn't find it better the next day. I actually thew it away! I had high hopes for this bread but, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Not impressed. It doesn't taste like anything. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe intrigued me. Alas, I am in the category of people who found it not to taste very banana-y, or very caramelly, or very coffee-y. I made a double batch, which used an entire $8 box of Starbucks VIA coffee powder, I expected a coffee flavor. This bread is tasty, but it is not flavored like any one thing, except perhaps the glaze, which I didn't have a problem with other than I ate too much of it cleaning my pot and whisk and feel a little bit sugar-shocked now :) The better portion of both loaves are going with DH to work; if the flavor has matured overnight and this is well-received at his work, I might come back and bump this up to a 5 even if it isn't exactly what I thought I was making. I did use the macchiato flavor creamer, which is quite nice actually. Regarding the glaze: if it's bubbling and you still have "loose" butter floating on top, add another packed TB of brown sugar and keep stirring. Keep doing that until the butter is no longer "loose". Measurements can be fiddlier than you'd think when you're talking about brown sugar, which varies VASTLY in terms of water retention. Thanks for the recipe, Dianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
A very moist and delicious bread. I am not a coffee fan, but did enjoy the faint hint of it in this recipe. The caramel macchiato coffee creamer is wonderful. I could not get the glaze to set up, so I added powdered sugar to it and a little of the creamer and it worked perfect. I baked the recipe in 3 small loaf pans for about 35 minutes. Worked perfect and came right out of the pans. DS took one loaf to his girlfriend, one loaf back to school and managed to eat most of the third loaf before leaving for school. Thanks Dianne for sharing this recipe. It would be a great addition to Christmas gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States