Caramel Liqueur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
yum. is on the thick side but when heated it thins out. i love caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious! But very thick. I used a blender to mix all ingredients together and strained the final product into a jar (there were some remaining chunks). Note to future caramel liqueur makers, boiling the metal cans left a rust ring around my stainless steel pot that I cannot remove. I will try the double broiler method next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Excellent! Can also add whipping cream makes it easier to pour. Have added Brandy in place of the rum. Wonderful. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I took another reviewer's method and used the oven instead of boiling the mixture in a can. The top layer of the milk did nearly burn after an hour, but it was easily removed. I used 1/4 rum for one can of milk to adjust it to my tastes...IT'S SO GOOD. I hesitated to use the original method of browning the milk simply because the can has a label saying 'Do Not Heat in Can.' I've been told this pertains to using on a fire, but it was easier and FASTER to go with the oven method anyway. I do not like the taste of alcohol, so add the rum slowly until you have the taste you want. The full amount would be too much for 'light' drinkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This tasted amazing, and was so easy. The only change I will make in the future is adding a bit more rum. It was very thick and hard to pour, or sip, at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is the best. Everybody so impressed. Great to make camping & that is what we are doing sitting around the campfire on a cool evening sipping warm caramel liqueur. I wouldn't change a thing & not worried about storage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Decadent! Very sweet and thick, but sinfully good. I'm betting this would be good drizzled over ice cream or pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
AWESOME!! I didn't want to go out and the only alcohol I had on New Years Eve was about a 1/3 of a bottle of Amber Brandy but I did have a can of sweetened condensed milk. I was skeptical (and a little scared) but it worked wonderfully. I peeled off the paper and boiled the can in a 3 qt. covered Farberware pan covered with water for 2 hrs and 45 mins. It was perfect. It did take some mixing to combine the brandy with the caramel. Very smooth. Looking forward to trying it again with spiced rum, also in my coffee. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by MK!
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I found this recipe when trying to use up the rest of a can of sweetened condensed milk. Since the can was opened, I had to find a different method of heating the milk. I put the milk into a pie plate and the pie plate into another dish that I filled with boiling water. I placed this into a 375 oven for about an hour. Then continued with the recipe. I also blended the mixture because otherwise there would have been lumps. It is delicious and only took an hour and 15 minutes (total) to make instead of the almost 5 hours it states on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Just the recipe I've been looking for. Thank you for this simple and delicious drink. I can't wait to share with all my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States