Caramel Heavenlies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This is an easy, chewy and delicious cookie! However, I did have to make a couple of adjustments to the amount of ingredients for my cookies to hold together well. I doubled the amount of marshmallows from 2 cups to 4 cups and I also cut the almonds in half from 2 cups to 1 cup. When I first tried it with 2 cups of almonds, there were so much almonds that weren't being held together by the gooey part of the cookie and they just sat on top or fell off. These adjustments have fixed the problem and they now hold together beautifully. I was also told by a friend that the chocolate graham crackers work the best and so when I went to the store, all they had were the chocolate graham cracker snack sticks which I thought was worth a try. Be warned- this was a really bad idea since they weren't wide and flat enough to be a good base for this cookie. Also, I tried using wax paper instead of the aluminum foil which also didn't fare too well. The foil with plenty of Pam really worked the best. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the melted butter and brown sugar mixture (as I had seen in another Caramel Heavenlies recipe) which made it even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I've tried several different recipes to use up graham crackers that had been around a while at my job. This one is the best! Everyone loves it and those that bake always ask for the recipe. I increased the marshmallows to 4 cups and the brown sugar and butter to 1 cup. Once out of the oven, I use an icing spreader to combine the melted marshmallows with the almonds and coconut otherwise I've found they fall off the cookie. I bet it would be very good with pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNDROPFAIRY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Morrison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I make these at Christmas time to give as gifts along with other goodies. My whole family loves them and they are devoured within minutes. My only tip is that spraying the foil with a non-stick spray before putting the graham crackers on helps keep everything from sticking when you try and cut them up. The syrupy mixture you put over the graham's can make a bit of a mess if you don't use the spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I love these...they're sooooo good! I made them a long time ago and then lost the recipe. They're a cinch to make, but very sticky. This time I had the benefit of the review posts to learn that you MUST thoroughly coat the foil-lined pan with non-stick spray. It makes a world of difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
mmmm, i love these! i use this recipe all the time with different variations as well. the most popular so far has been the addition of peanut butter chips with the marshmallows and the substitution of dry roasted peanuts for the almonds :) i always use a full cup of butter and brown sugar for the caramel because we are caramel nuts in this house! these are so delicious and easy. i sent them to work with my husband and everyone that baked asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARA K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazard, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These are so easy to make. I follow the recipe until I get to the coconut and the almonds. I just eyeball until covered sufficiently. I've made this the last two Christmas's and my guests think they are truly "heavenly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These were very sweet, but not in a bad way. I would call these a candy. One must spray the foil, or you won't be able to get these off of the foil. I found these to gooey and sticky to cut, I broke into random pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Everyone loved these. I used melted caramel candies instead of butter and sugar, and these tasted amazing. I have a bag of them in the freezer now, to top ice cream or just snack on when guests pop by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn-Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Valley, California, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I love these! I just made them, and can't stop nibbling. I used my pizza cutter, and they cut very easily. I think the trick is to wait until they are completely cool....Even though it was so hard to wait! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was amazing! I used a regular baking dish and no foil. I sprinkled chocolate chips before I topped with coconut. This taste just like a samoa girl scout cookie BUT even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States