Caramel Ham Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is the recipe my grandmother used to use. I don't use beef in my hamloaf though, I substitute the beef with sausage - the difference in taste is quite different. In any case, I make this recipe on occassions and have nothing left by the time dinner is over. I always takes me back to my grandma's kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was my first Ham Loaf, so I did pretty much stick with the recipe as is. I cut back on milk, because 2 cups was more than enough to soak the bread. First the good: It had very good flavor, especially the glaze on top. (I wouldn't change this at all). It also made a huge amount! It served my family of 4 with tons of leftovers. The bad news is the texture was just not there. It was mushy. I had to bake in loaf pans, rather than 9x13 pan, because it wouldn't take shape of a loaf. I'll keep the glaze recipe, but keep looking for the actual loaf recipe. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was almost inedible. The topping was good, but the rest was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. I cooked it exactly according to the recipe. We had a lot of ham leftover from Christmas and it was a great way to use it. We found that the flavours improved over several days. We enjoyed it bot hot and cold on sandwiches. my husband is already saying he wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Very good ham loaf! I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I will do differently next time is to add some ketchup to the glaze (and therefore cut back on some of the sugar.) I really enjoy the "home style" taste of the tomatoes in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I have been searching and searching for a recipe that emulated what my grandmother used to make. I finally found it. I will use this recipe over and over again and recommend others to do so as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I could only give this three stars; my husband liked it, but he was alone. It was a huge amount even for my family of seven...which means a lot of leftovers! It turned out very mushy despite the ten pieces of bread and six eggs. I followed the recipe exactly as was written. I even ground my own ham. I may try this again, but I'll keep looking for the perfect ham loaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Yummy! I used leftover deli old fashioned ham and used food processor to grind the ham. I did not add the salt because I felt the ham was salty enough. I also skipped out the 1/3 cup brown sugar. The caramel topping made it sweet enough. Almost sweet and sour. Definately would make it again. I also halfed the recipe and that made more then enough for two with leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
O-M-G, this is TO DIE FOR! I had to travel quite a ways to find a store that could prepare ground smoked ham for me but it was so worth it. I don't even like dishes like this and I thought it was good and my husband, the meatloaf fanatic, thought he had died and gone to heaven. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States