Caramel-Glazed Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I made this..followed the instructions completely and it was a miserable failure. I'm not sure what I did wrong. It was over cooked and mealy tasting. I backed it in a ceramic dish..was this the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great recipe! Comes out amazing every time! I highly recommend it. Once you've mastered the challenge of making the caramel (without burning it), all else is a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and it made 4 perfectly sized individual ramekins which baked a little longer than 30 minutes. It was almost perfect, except for some reason I couldn't get my sugar to turn brown. The first time, I used a double boiler and I waited and stirred so long that it crystallized. The second time I tried I used a small saucepan on med-low and I couldn't even get it to melt even though the pan was perfectly warm! I added a little water and a touch of vanilla and it melted instantly (this is supposedly called a "wet caramel"), but it never did turn that caramel color even when I waited. I eventually just gave up to prevent crystallization and poured the melted sugar into the ramekins, which were already set up in the baking dish with hot water. Imagine my surprise when, after the cooking and cooling process, the sugar had not hardened into candy (as I have had happen before) but was essentially a clear caramel. The taste was great even if the presentation wasn't. I consider myself a good cook but for some reason, caramel gets me! If you're like me--Don't give up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is an easy recipe. I was a little scared to do it because of the reviews about the sugar, but it turned out really good according to my daughter and friends. I did not taste it because I don't like like custurds, but I wanted to try it because my friends like it, so it will be a staple when I do Mexican meals. I could not find the low fat condensed milk so I used the regular. I was amazed at how easy it was to do caramel. I have never done anything like that before. Thanks for a great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I have made several flan in the past and this is an exceptional low-fat version. I would definately make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is so easy! I had no idea how simple it was to make delicious flan, but now that I know, I will be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I had to bake this flan for approximately 1 hour and twenty minutes. The idea of omitting the water sounded good. It tasted okay, but maybe I will have better luck next time without the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by harvard11111
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I surrounded the finished product with pomegranate and covered it with fresh fruit -- it was delicious and went over really well at a party. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
i have made this so many times and it is perfect every time. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I only had regular condensed milk and it still came out good. Texture was smooth and silky and tasted like a professional flan from outside. Couldn't eat more than a slice though because it was so sweet. This isn't necessarily a fault of the recipe however because flan is just naturally very sweet for a dessert. For personal preference you might want to lower the sugar or caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States