Caramel Fudge Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
i don't quite understand the negative reviews on this recipe--i made 1/2 a batch and baked it in an 8x8 pan, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. mine turned out pretty darn good! i've been searching for quite some time to find a recipe like this one (lots of sugar and not much flour, makes more soft, chewy, moist baked goodies!). i would like mine a bit thicker though, so maybe next time i'll make a whole batch, but still bake in the 8x8 pan. although i wouldn't go so far as to call them "fudge", they are deelish indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stanton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is, by far, the worst recipe that has ever been tried in our kitchen! After more than an hour in the oven it was still the consistency of stew, with a crusty, brown topping. What a waste of expensive ingredients and time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Despite the mixed reviews I decided to give this recipe a try. I followed it perfectly. When it was time to pull it out of the oven I found that it was hardly done cooking. The edges were starting to turn brown but everything else was still like batter. I didn't know what to do so I turned up the heat for another few minutes until the cake solidified. This caused the whole thing to turn a bit too dark. Perhaps had I started with a hotter oven the whole thing would have turned out better. However, taste wise, I wasn't that impressed. These squares were really spongy - perhaps because of so many eggs. I was looking for something more "fudgy" - dense and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I'm really surprised of the negative ratings on this recipe. I lost a similar recipe and have been looking for one. I think it's great. We like it moist. I would suggest not as much flour as it calls for though. 1 3/4 at the most. It was delicious and always gets rave reviews when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
In a word.....YUM! Excellent recipe...thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Horrible. Though the taste wasnt so bad, It never turned into anything remotely edible. It was just a gooey brown mess!. Followed the recipe - Will NEVER make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
These were really good. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added the skor bits and milk chocolate chips. . . seems like they'd be kind of plain without these additions. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Schultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Oh my, these were delicious! They taste quite sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
I found the squares to be too moist, it took forever to get them somewhat solid, and even after allowing them to cool they were very wet. I would not recommend this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
WOW! These taste great. They are very fudgy! I love these squares and I'll make them again soon. I suggest adding 1 1/2 cups of skor chips and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips to make them even better. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States