Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
VERY good! Great on Southern Praline Pecan Cake. Will try this on Sticky Toffee Pudding. Great with or without the added pecans & quickly hardened to a nice smoothe finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Perfect glaze to use atop Fresh Apple Cake II. Using the whip attachment on my mixer instead of hand-mixing made this recipe even easier. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This was delicious - just what I was looking for to top off a not-too0sweet spice cake. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This tasted like brown sugar fudge: everyone thought so! It also has a sweet aroma. I followed the directions exactly. The first time I beat the frosting for 2 minutes. As soon as it left the pan and hit the cake it 'set', so I had to 'pat' it on in chunks. The second time, I beat it 1 1/2 minutes: it poured down my Pumpkin bundt cake and set very nicely in a thick glaze. Don't be fooled by the liquid/honey consistancy: it will start to set as soon as it leaves the hot pan. The only reason I gave it four stars, not five, is that it cracked and crumbled when the cake was cut. It was easy and very VERY yummy.... I'll make it again, I'm just not to sure for what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Excellent! I used it to top a plain boxed cake mix. I served lite vanilla ice cream. My desert was a real hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cahokia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yum! It was the perfect topping to Fresh Apple Cake II from this website. Made it for a church potluck. Since I noticed that people had said that it got a little hard, I added about 1 tsp extra butter when I made it. It was perfect! Just the right consistency after it set up on the cake. It seemed really gooey when I first put it on, and I thought "Oh well, caramel sauce is really good." But after a few hours, it had set up just perfect. I can't keep my hands off of it! Great flavor, great consistency, great amount for a topping. Definitely a keeper! I skipped the nuts, also, mostly out of economics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Used this on butter bundt cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
YUMMY! I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and almond milk. I used it for pumpkin bread....so good! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I followed the directions and it came out great! Very yummy. Even my husband (who CLAIMS not to like camamel) Ate it up! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I had no problems with executing the recipe at all: the directions were clear and simple. The resulting frosting was a little too sweet, but not enough to make it overpoweringly sweet. The problem I had is that it's NOT frosting! It's much more like a glaze (even more so than other caramel frosting recipes I've seen). It's fine for, say, a caramel filling or for a glaze for a Bundt cake, but it's not really a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States