Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Very yummy! I wanted to use it as a glaze for spice cookies, so I added a little more milk than it called for to ensure that it was thin enough to drizzle. It's delicious! It tastes like the inside of a pecan pie, and it goes wonderfully with my cookies. I only gave it 4 stars because it never hardened, but maybe that was because of the extra milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Like previous entry, I make this for my fresh apple cake... yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this without the pecans and it was exactly what I was looking for to go on the apple cake I made! It does cool quickly, so pour it on fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
a real caramel texture and flavor! great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I used this as a topping for "Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake" and the gourmands I live with could not have been more pleased. It was incredibly simple and I did not use all of the frosting so I refrigerated it and then reheated it up in the microwave, still tasting excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was just ok. Didn't taste as much like caramel as I would have liked and I could taste the flour. Goes from runny to hard VERY quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I followed the directions and it came out great! Very yummy. Even my husband (who CLAIMS not to like camamel) Ate it up! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe worked perfectly. I used it on a not very sweet chocolate cake so it gave my sweet tooth the kick it needed. It was easy to make and didnt take long. I ended up cooking it a bit longer than 1 1/2 minutes and beat it for quite a bit longer than suggested and the outcome was great. Ill definately make this one again and I think it would be lovely on a spice cake such as carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent- use with Apple Cake VII
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Perfect! Makes almost more of what I would call a glaze, with a crackly sugar texture. Makes enough for a thin frosting on a 9"x13" cake, but it's so rich you don't need more than a thin layer. Delicious with Fresh Apple Cake II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States