Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
a real caramel texture and flavor! great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I used this as a topping for "Grandma's Fresh Apple Cake" and the gourmands I live with could not have been more pleased. It was incredibly simple and I did not use all of the frosting so I refrigerated it and then reheated it up in the microwave, still tasting excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Verona, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was just ok. Didn't taste as much like caramel as I would have liked and I could taste the flour. Goes from runny to hard VERY quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I followed the directions and it came out great! Very yummy. Even my husband (who CLAIMS not to like camamel) Ate it up! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe worked perfectly. I used it on a not very sweet chocolate cake so it gave my sweet tooth the kick it needed. It was easy to make and didnt take long. I ended up cooking it a bit longer than 1 1/2 minutes and beat it for quite a bit longer than suggested and the outcome was great. Ill definately make this one again and I think it would be lovely on a spice cake such as carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina & Rob V

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent- use with Apple Cake VII
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Perfect! Makes almost more of what I would call a glaze, with a crackly sugar texture. Makes enough for a thin frosting on a 9"x13" cake, but it's so rich you don't need more than a thin layer. Delicious with Fresh Apple Cake II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I had no problems with executing the recipe at all: the directions were clear and simple. The resulting frosting was a little too sweet, but not enough to make it overpoweringly sweet. The problem I had is that it's NOT frosting! It's much more like a glaze (even more so than other caramel frosting recipes I've seen). It's fine for, say, a caramel filling or for a glaze for a Bundt cake, but it's not really a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this to go on a brown sugar pound cake. It was perfect. I did increase the vanilla to 2 tsp to suit my tastebuds and it was so good. Great recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
YUMMY! And super easy to make. used it for a pear cake and it was what really made the cake. Using it again for a chocolate zucchini cake....its just that good and did I mention easy.love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVEFLYNUNS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States