Caramel Frosting VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very easy recipe, and good. I could forget the cake and eat the frosting with a spoon. :-) Thanks for the recipe - used it on a spice cake for my husband's birthday and he loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good! I used it on top of a butter recipe box cake that had added chocolate kisses in the middle of the cake before baking. I made a bundt cake. I only added in middle of the cake ring before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yum! It was the perfect topping to Fresh Apple Cake II from this website. Made it for a church potluck. Since I noticed that people had said that it got a little hard, I added about 1 tsp extra butter when I made it. It was perfect! Just the right consistency after it set up on the cake. It seemed really gooey when I first put it on, and I thought "Oh well, caramel sauce is really good." But after a few hours, it had set up just perfect. I can't keep my hands off of it! Great flavor, great consistency, great amount for a topping. Definitely a keeper! I skipped the nuts, also, mostly out of economics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This has a great caramel taste that really enhanced a cake that I made. When you start this frosting, make sure you have everything ready and your cake cooled. This frosting does set up very quickly, so you don’t have too long before it starts to get thick. I used it to top ‘Two ingredient Pumpkin Cake’ another AR recipe, and it was delicious. This was more than enough frosting to frost a Bundt® cake with some to spare as it filled in the middle of the cake. Once the frosting sets, it has a dried appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Yes I try this recipe on my pound cake and my family enjoy it.They said that was the best caramel icing that I made!!! I LOVED IT and I will be making it again so if anyone one want to make a good caramel icing please try this one.... THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great recipe- but I had the opposite problem that other commenters did: It set up REALLY fast, and was much more of a frosting than a glaze. Didn't make enough to frost a 3 layer cake, and was too thick to spread down the sides. However, just used it on the top- and it was Amazing! Put it on the Pecan Pie cake from Pintrest. I think maybe I beat it too long, and that might be why it got so much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was wonderful. I used it with a boxed Butter Pecan mix to which I added a box of Instant Butterscotch Pudding mix and 1 extra egg. Because I was a little concerned about clumping I added an extra 1/2 Tbl of butter and a little extra vanilla. Poured it right on to the cake and spread it with a spreader kept in simmering water. When it got tough to spread I hit it with a hair dryer, set to high, to warm it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I use this glaze over Plum Bread (it's actually a cake....recipe is on this site) and it is one of our family's favorites!! You have to try this combo.....tastes like a caramel apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
wonderful, I doubled it for a sheet cake. It was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States