Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Before starting this recipe I poured the reviews for tips for success. In hot humid Houston, I knew boiling sugar would have challenges. I had moderate success, and think this is salvable in the future...My tips: Use a bigger pot then needed! It will boil up!Do not stir as you are waiting for it to boil Rolling boil means it is all boiling, not just around the edges. Patience. I put it in the fridge overnight covered based on other suggestions to make sure it was cold. When I took it from the fridge, it had a thick (1/2 in) hard "skin" on top. I was terrified all had gone wrong. However, - Beating it in the kitchenaid w/ the paddle really did get rid of all of that hard skin. Unlike some other reviewers, I found that I had peak "stiffness" after about 3 minutes of beating, although I don't think it would have been pipe-able at that point. After 6-7 min, I realized it was just getting looser and looser, so added ~ 4 c powder sugar. I used the whisk attachment to incorporate that sugar and found that as I whisked more, it would get looser so I stopped and attempted to pipe it on the cupcakes. Moderate success, had to go in fridge to set the icing. It was ridiculously sweet (w/the add'l sugar), flake salt on top was definitely needed. Next time, I'll refridgerate icing after beating and then pipe (no powdered). As is, this would probably cover 16 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was incredible!! I added extra heavy cream because it was difficult to mix but very worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is a very good recipe. I did take Teresa's advice, though and add powdered sugar to the frosting as I was beating it. I forgot to take out the 2-3 tbsp of cream before cooking it so, I just added some (2 tbsp). And it took about 1 cup of powdered sugar to get the consistency I wanted. It turned out fantastic. The glaze consistency (with no powdered sugar) would be great to drizzle over cinnamon rolls or something like that, though. Thank you Carol for a great recipe and thank you Teresa for the suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tumtum
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I followed some tips from other reviewers (adding tbs of heavy whipping cream and tbs of confectioners sugar, alternatively until it reached my desired consistency) and it turned out great! However, it was a little too sweet for me, but I know most people like sweet frosting. I'm going to try to cut back on the brown sugar and increase heavy whipping cream next time and see if that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I love this recipe!! The flavor was phenomenal. I took the suggestions of other reviews and allowed my frosting to cool off in the freezer(45 mins to an hour). Once it cooled I mixed it with my mixer and it was ready to be spread on my cake. Awesome recipe and award winning taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mskygirl01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Absolutely amazing!!! And if you cool it completely, it whips up to the most wonderful consistency - light and not too sweet. If you're looking for a heavy frosting, like a butter cream, this is not it. It probably fits somewhere between whipped cream and butter cream on the consistency scale. Also, the color is simply beautiful. I put mine in the refrigerator after it was done to help in the cooling process. It forms a bit of skin on top, and that's when you know it's safe to beat it. I beat it for about a minute and a half on medium speed with an electric mixer. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times and I have to say - don't mess with it!! When you make it exactly as directed, it is perfect. It seems liquidy and weird when you cook it, but once you let it cool and whip it up, it turns fully and delicious. Amazing caramel flavor, smooth texture, a total winner. Swapping in powdered sugar makes it runny and a little too sweet, half and half will make a sauce that is fabulous on ice cream, but otherwise useless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe is amazing but you MUST let it cool completely. It is not difficult to make it just take patience. Powdered sugar should not be necessary if you just let it cool. I do agree however that if left at room temperature it does not keep its fluffy consistency but it still tastes wonderful...just a little gooey. I think it would be better for cake frosting than cupcakes unless you keep them refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Hayes Plank
Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Winning dessert due to this recipe! You definitely have to wait for the frosting to cool...like a couple of hours in order for it to come to a great consistency to work with. The flavor is like a piece of caramel candy nice and buttery. I have tried two other recipes this taste is definitely different and stands out from the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Followed the suggestions in the reviews and it turned out fabulously!! Withouth following the suggestions, you get a caramel sauce or glaze. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States