Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This is the best frosting I have tasted! Creamy and not sugary...with a good caramel flavor. Easy to make. Use a bigger pan than you think you will need because of the volume when boiling and beating. After dropping cold butter pieces into the mix, I put the pan in the fridge til quite cool. It beat up like a dream! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I made the mistake of letting it cool completely before stirring, so I had some hard candy lumps in mine, but it was super tasty, lumps and all. I put it on Aunt Bert's White Cake (to which I added 2tbsp of oil to the recipe) - and oh la la, what a rich, moist, decadent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT frosting. While making it I had some doubts about consistency and color, but it turned out to be such a hit and everyone LOVED it and could not stop commenting. I used it on "Apple Bundt Cake". Some hints- do not overcook. Follow the 1 min timing exactly. Also, beat after the entire bowl has cooled down, it helps to put it in the fridge. Once it is completely cool and you start beating it, the color will lighten up a lot and it will become fluffy and have frosting consistency, so don't worry about it! The flavor is perfect, this is definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Fantastic!! This is the creamiest, smoothest and most delicious caramel icing I've ever made. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This frosting is simply fantastic! Easy, foolproof and delicious! Very creamy tasting.Tastes like just like my grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. I found that if I let the frosting set overnight at room temp, it spreads like butter!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
this was a strange recipe but produced awesome results on a banana bundt cake I was in a hurry, so to cool the mixture quickly, I put it in a cold ss bowl and into the freezer and mixed after 10 minutes w/ the ss bowl in an ice bath--beautiful results and will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Crogan Snipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Thanks Carol for an amazing recipe. This stuff is amazing! I followed the directions to a tee and it turned out perfectly. I did try to whip it when I think it might not have been cool enough and it would not set up, so I let it cool another hour or so and it set up perfectly. It is very sweet, I am surprised someone said that it was not very sweet. It is also very creamy and you can really taste the richness of the butter and cream that are used in here. It is so incredibly easy to make. This is a definite keeper. I used it on an apple cake that my family has made for years that I am going to post the recipe here for soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDWARDGMYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Although this was the first time I've made any Caramel frosting, I agree with the last reviewer in regards to the consistency of this recipe. However, I still give it 5 stars because the taste (with the powdered sugar) was FABULOUS!!! My family ate it out of the pan before I could get it all on my cake. I will definitely make it again...soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I don't think my frosting ever reached ideal spreading consistency, but I'm giving the recipe 5 stars because the flavor is so esceptional. Yum! And the flavor more than made up for the slightly runny frosting. You really have to wait for it to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States