Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This is the best frosting I have tasted! Creamy and not sugary...with a good caramel flavor. Easy to make. Use a bigger pan than you think you will need because of the volume when boiling and beating. After dropping cold butter pieces into the mix, I put the pan in the fridge til quite cool. It beat up like a dream! Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
Fantastic!! This is the creamiest, smoothest and most delicious caramel icing I've ever made. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
This frosting is simply fantastic! Easy, foolproof and delicious! Very creamy tasting.Tastes like just like my grandmother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I tried this recipe, increasing it by 50% since I needed more icing to decorate a fairly elaborate cake. Note I also live at altitude (recent move - not a lot of experience in adjusting recipes yet). Well, what I had after refrigerating the mixture for 2 hours was lovely caramel sauce for ice cream (after beating - unless I was supposed to be using an electric mixer to incorporate air?). So, iwth guests coming in 90 minutes I had to punt. I added 4.5 cups of confectioners sugar (so for the regular recipe that would be 3 cups), a cup at a time, beating constantly after each addition. THEN I had caramel frosting I could decorate a cake with. Everyone LOVED the frosting. I don't know if it was increasing the recipe, altitude, or what that caused my problems. I did boil it for 90 seconds instead of 60 each time, BTW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. I found that if I let the frosting set overnight at room temp, it spreads like butter!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I made the mistake of letting it cool completely before stirring, so I had some hard candy lumps in mine, but it was super tasty, lumps and all. I put it on Aunt Bert's White Cake (to which I added 2tbsp of oil to the recipe) - and oh la la, what a rich, moist, decadent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
this was a strange recipe but produced awesome results on a banana bundt cake I was in a hurry, so to cool the mixture quickly, I put it in a cold ss bowl and into the freezer and mixed after 10 minutes w/ the ss bowl in an ice bath--beautiful results and will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFLYNNS

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
EXCELLENT frosting. While making it I had some doubts about consistency and color, but it turned out to be such a hit and everyone LOVED it and could not stop commenting. I used it on "Apple Bundt Cake". Some hints- do not overcook. Follow the 1 min timing exactly. Also, beat after the entire bowl has cooled down, it helps to put it in the fridge. Once it is completely cool and you start beating it, the color will lighten up a lot and it will become fluffy and have frosting consistency, so don't worry about it! The flavor is perfect, this is definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Thanks Carol for an amazing recipe. This stuff is amazing! I followed the directions to a tee and it turned out perfectly. I did try to whip it when I think it might not have been cool enough and it would not set up, so I let it cool another hour or so and it set up perfectly. It is very sweet, I am surprised someone said that it was not very sweet. It is also very creamy and you can really taste the richness of the butter and cream that are used in here. It is so incredibly easy to make. This is a definite keeper. I used it on an apple cake that my family has made for years that I am going to post the recipe here for soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDWARDGMYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
The only reason I gave this 4 stars was because I also added 10x sugar to get the texture I desired. Without it, it was more like a thick glaze. I garnished it with toffee bits. It is truly delicious, though, and will be made again many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States