Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This frosting was a disaster for me. I followed the directions exactly and because of all of the reviews warning to be sure to cool completely before mixing, I refrigerated overnight before touching it. As it warmed, it became too wet, I added 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar (1/2 cup at a time mixing well after each addition) to try to solidify it...never happened. This frosting must remain cold at all times or it will not hold up. Unfortunately, I was bringing it to work (a half hour drive) and in that time it warmed enough to cause the top layer of a 2 layer cake to slide off of the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent caramel frosting recipe. The recipe isn't too clear on how to achieve a creamy frosting as in the picture. No addition of powder sugar to an already oversweet frosting is necessary. Cool mixture completely and then refrigerate for about an hour. Beat to creamy consistency. Using the Banana Cake VI recipe from this site (another excellent recipe!), I frosted a 13"x9" cake and still had about a cup of frosting left over. Cooking mixture as indicated in the recipe, and cooling and then refrigerating mixture is essential to achieve a wonderfully creamy caramel frosting. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is sweet and carmelly! Very good! I made this to top blondies with. I hope no one ends up overdosing on the sweetness. It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Absolutely amazing, the reviews that it would look completely wrong were very very helpful. The best, tasted almost like candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
The flavor was VERY good, however, I only give it 4 stars because mine did not get as thick as it should have and I ended up adding some powdered sugar to achieve the desired consistency. I used margarine instead of butter so maybe that is why. I will definitely be making this icing again though! Delicious on mini chocolate cupcakes! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Has a great rich carmel flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I messed this recipe up royally because I didn't think I had the time to wait for it to set up all the way, so I threw it in the mixer prematurely. I ended up having to add at least 4 cups of powdered sugar to make the consistency right. But once all was said and done, it taste good and made a great filling for a chocolate cake. Next time I'll wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele Johnson
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
So good! I did as others suggested and put it in the refrigerator for about an hour. I found it was still a little runny so I added some powdered sugar to reach a good spreading consistency (I estimate it was about 1/2 cup total.) It has a great flavor and goes really well with the crazy cake recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I found myself eating this straight out of the bowl. I put it on white cake with coconut and pecans. I also added coconut to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States