Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Too sweet, not true caramel flavor. Also, mine never set up, not after an overnight chill, not after 2 beatings in my kitchenaid, not after the addition of 1 cup cornstarch, and another cup of powdered sugar. Could be the humidity here I suppose, but at any rate, I can't use it. It makes a ton too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good. I forgot the baking soda while i was making it. stuck it into the freezer for it to cool off faster. Whipped it with my kitchen aid mixer with the whisk attachment. I had to add a few rounded tablespoons of powdered sugar. I found no use for the baking soda, if you dont have any, dont worry about it. i iced this onto my apple cake and it was a big hit at my church's meet and greet. thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Five stars for its decadently luscious flavor and murderously silken texture. But only two stars for insufficient instructions and difficulty. One pound of brown sugar equals 2-1/4 cups, packed. This is a large amount, so the last thing you want to have to do is add powdered sugar to get the proper consistency. That said, the instructions should say that the brown sugar/cream mixture needs not only to "cool" but to be refrigerated until ice cold. Mine was cool, 2 hours at room temp and 1 hour in the fridge, but not completely chilled. And I beat it for over 10 minutes in my KitchenAid mixer, with no thickening. So I added a yolk (not advised for pregnant women nor young children) and this helped it gain some body. But the real thickening came when I refrigerated it for 6 hours. Success! Needs to be stored in the fridge, as well (on your baked good, as well as the leftovers) to avoid its becoming too soft. Fabulous taste, but way, WAY too fussy for most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This frosting was a disaster for me. I followed the directions exactly and because of all of the reviews warning to be sure to cool completely before mixing, I refrigerated overnight before touching it. As it warmed, it became too wet, I added 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar (1/2 cup at a time mixing well after each addition) to try to solidify it...never happened. This frosting must remain cold at all times or it will not hold up. Unfortunately, I was bringing it to work (a half hour drive) and in that time it warmed enough to cause the top layer of a 2 layer cake to slide off of the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent caramel frosting recipe. The recipe isn't too clear on how to achieve a creamy frosting as in the picture. No addition of powder sugar to an already oversweet frosting is necessary. Cool mixture completely and then refrigerate for about an hour. Beat to creamy consistency. Using the Banana Cake VI recipe from this site (another excellent recipe!), I frosted a 13"x9" cake and still had about a cup of frosting left over. Cooking mixture as indicated in the recipe, and cooling and then refrigerating mixture is essential to achieve a wonderfully creamy caramel frosting. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is sweet and carmelly! Very good! I made this to top blondies with. I hope no one ends up overdosing on the sweetness. It is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Absolutely amazing, the reviews that it would look completely wrong were very very helpful. The best, tasted almost like candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
The flavor was VERY good, however, I only give it 4 stars because mine did not get as thick as it should have and I ended up adding some powdered sugar to achieve the desired consistency. I used margarine instead of butter so maybe that is why. I will definitely be making this icing again though! Delicious on mini chocolate cupcakes! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Has a great rich carmel flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States