Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Good, but like other reviewers, it never thickened so I needed to add a bunch of powdered sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This turned out so amazingly delicious. I followed the advice of a few reviewers and added more cream after the caramel had cooled. I also substituted about 1/4 of the brown sugar with powdered sugar that I also added after the mixture had cooled. It turned out so ridiculously yummy, and I'm definitely adding this one to the repertoire...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good! The timing is perfect and the frosting doesn't taste like burnt sugar! Thank goodness! I did add additional whipping cream and powdered sugar when whipping the frosting after it cooled for 1.5 hrs in the refrigerator without stirring. The color is beautiful & it's made a great spreadable (not hard) frosting. Thanks for the recipe! It's great on top of my Caramel Apple Pie. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hi. This is more of a question than a review, but I tried making this and got a glaze-like product rather than a frosting, even after cooling in the fridge for 30 minutes. I was wondering if this might be because I stirred too much while boiling the sugar and cream to keep the sugar from burning. Anyone else having this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
delicious, but I can't imagine how much powdered sugar I would have to add to make it look like the photo. Mine was a thin frosting and I added three cups of powdered sugar to the recipe. It was tasty, but thin and very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This frosting wouldn't whip up for me, either. Yes, you can force it to become frosting by adding LOTS of powdered sugar, but that makes it so sweet as to be over the top. I agree with the reviewer who said the directions seem to be missing steps/detail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This frosting tastes great but didn't whip up for me. I let this cool completely in the fridge and the consistency was like hot fudge sauce. I think the mixture needs to cool completely before adding the butter because the butter melts instantly in the hot caramel. I will try that next time. For this batch to work I had to add about 1 cup powdered sugar and no matter how much I beat it, it didn't become fluffy. It didn't matter since I was using it on a sheet cake but it wouldn't have worked on a layer cake. It became hard in the fridge overnight but softened quickly on the counter. A great tasting recipe but needs some tweaks on the method to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I love this frosting. The trick to this frosting is that you must let it completely cool off before using your blender. I usually make the frosting the evening before, let it cool to room temperature and then let it sit in the refrig overnight. I mix it with the blender in the morning just warming it up slightlty, like for a few seconds. Love this and it spreads well over warm pound cake, not hot cake out the oven, warm cake please or it will look like a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I'm so sorry - I don't think this was good as a frosting. I beat the ever-living snot out of the mixture for half an hour and it never came to frosting consistency. Maybe I did something wrong? (My mixer gave me the stink eye when I finally gave up) BUT - if you had to top up a tart of some kind this would be lovely, but it would have made sure that this wouldn't go above the edges of the tart. Anyway, I ended up just adding confectioner's sugar until it got to the consistency I wanted. It did turn out very caramely-tasting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was delicious but I have to take off a star because I followed the recipe exactly and never really got it much to a whipped consistency, it was pretty thin and glazey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States