Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I followed the directions for the most part to make the caramel, but rather than add confectioners sugar to the caramel, I softened one and a half cups of butter and creamed in a bowl. I then added the confectioners sugar to the butter and beat on low speed. I then slowly added the caramel. It resulted in a perfect caramel buttercream frosting. It was also the perfect amount to frost two nine inch round cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is wonderful. It didn't taste to much like Carmel till I learned when you boil the brown sugar longer then two mins, it really makes it taste like Carmel,.also a little makes alot. I drizzle it over Apple cinnamon rolls, makes the prefect Carmel apple cinnamon rolls. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I like sweet, but this frosting was just too much. The caramel flavor is there and the consistency was great to work with, but it's just altogether too sweet to be truly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Tastes like Granny's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is great but the cake in the picture looks amazing as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a disaster. Turned out with a grainy texture and brown sugary lumps in it. I think the directions need more specifics on the temperature to melt the butter and boil the sugar. When I added the milk the mixture it was so hot I had steaming boiling milk splattering all over and nearly burned myself. I won't even mess with trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smelvin
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Icing taste great, exactly the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tried a few caramel frostings but this is what I was looking for. Just like the bakery's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evangmonique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Excellent flavor. I do think it needs to be spread on the cake right away because it was getting too thick to spread after abut ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States