Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I didn't care for the frosting. It is way too heavy, grainy and sugary for my taste however, the caramel sauce is divine! It was smooth, buttery and the perfect consistency to drizzle over ice cream or a slice of warm apple pie. I'll make the sauce again but not the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Yum! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly. I had two layer cakes and used half the warm frosting for one cake then set the remaining frosting aside. By the time I was ready to use it the next day, it had cooled and it was impossible to work with. Fortunately, I didn't need a pretty cake so I just smooshed the frosting on the cake and we ate and enjoyed it like that. For future reference I know to use all the frosting at once, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I followed this recipe as written and I can tell you it is delicious! I used it on an apple cake and my family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This frosting was easy and delicious. It sets up nicely...very sweet! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was super easy and delicious!!!! Better than my ......mother-in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is absolutely wonderful!! I cooked the brown sugar and butter longer and after I added the milk I also cooked that longer, gave it a good strong caramel flavor! Put it on banana cake -delicious! You can eat this right out of the bowl like candy! I will only use this recipe when making caramel frosting!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
way too sweet .. I followed directions to a T.... wont do this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I love this frosting! This is the second time I have made it. The first time I used it as a filling for a chocolate layer cake, the second time I used it to frost chocolate cupcakes (Simple 'N' Delicious Chocolate Cake from this site). I found that 2/3 of a recipe was just right to frost 12 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
GREAT, ADDED A DASH OF VANILA MADE IT PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandalin84
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was so delicious! And surprisingly easy to make. I can't wait to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States