Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
this frosting is wonderful ... thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NafKY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This frosting was delightful and very easy to make. I plan to make a caramel cake for Thanksgiving. So, i decided to do a trial run, and it turned out great. I used fat free half & half and added vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Tasy but not very caramely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I fixed as listed but added 1 tsp. vanilla. I used all 3 cups of sifted XXX sugar, but this was WAY too sweet. I have an extreme sweet tooth, but it was too much for even me. I would cut the XXX down by at least a cup if not a cup and a half. It did not spread like I would want so if you want more of a frosting, you might need to work on the consistency of it. The frosting started to get hard on me about 2/3 of the way through. It has a great taste, but is really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used this on my own caramel apple cupcakes and it was perfect! Didn't have to add any milk after confectioners sugar was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made used this caramel receipe last night and it was simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This recipe is delicious and simple. I used others helpful hints and made some adjustments myself. One, constant stirring is a must! Sifting the confectioners sugar will also help avoid grittiness. I melted butter just below medium heat, then added brown sugar and adjusted heat to medium to bring to a boil. I mixed a combination of dark and light brown sugars together to get more "caramely" flavor. I also used half n half instead of milk. I spread this over a banana cream cake and got RAVE reviews. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACEMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Outstanding! Creamy,smooth,and this frosting has a wonderful caramel flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkbliss
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I made this frosting exactly as instructed and it turned out really delicious. Its super sweet, but I have a huge sweet tooth, so its perfect for me! I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because this recipe has more of a toffee taste than caramel, but fortunately for me I like them both the same. I used it to frost a 1-2-3-4 cake, and it paired wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkbliss

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this as directed with one exception-I used about 3/4 tsp vanilla added in with the powdered sugar. This is a great frosting, but if I made this again I might use a dark brown sugar and boil it longer. It did not have a rich, caramel flavor like I thought it might. Either that or make it without the powdered sugar and use it as a sauce for bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States