Caramel for Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dairy Princess
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe tasted terrific. But totally failed as a caramel dip....caramel did not dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Took about 20 min total. Light in color. Constant stir on med. makes 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
this recipe was way too liquidly and not sweet enough! It was not a good choice to make, especially with the apples. they did not compliment each other nicely and were a major disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed other reviewers instructions for the making of the caramel. Basically, after the butter and milk are added, I cooked and stirred until it became the consistency of thick caramel. For those who reported runny caramel, you simply didn't cook it long enough. I used a candy thermometer as a guide, but I believe you can make this recipe using your own judgment, basing your decisions on the texture of the caramel. When you add the vanilla, it takes on the beautiful coloring that we all know and love! I placed the apples in the freezer for approx. 15 min. prior to dipping to help the caramel cling to the apple...that worked perfectly...no messy dripping. I also waited for the caramel to cool to 200-degrees as suggested by another reviewer...perfect! This caramel tastes so much better than the melted, wrapped caramels. And I always disliked having to unwrap each of the pieces in the bag. I was skeptical about this recipe, so I only made 1/2 as written and it yielded 4 medium sized caramel apples, which was perfect for me and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I gave this 3 stars because the directions are unclear. Sadly, I didn't read the reviews before making this and it was an epic fail. Sauce is way too thin, even after following the instructions precisely. It tastes good, but was hoping for a sauce that was think enough to dunk apple slices in or as a sauce for ice cream. Don't know if it can be salvaged at this point. Maybe by adding more sugar and bringing back to a boil it can be saved. As is, it might be okay as a syrup for ice cream, just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
A little thin, but lasts a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is a REAL caramel recipe...not one that calls for unwrapping store bought candies and melting. Simple recipe but does require you to babysit the entire time. I added ten extra minutes to the final cook stage to get a richer color. The taste is amazing, no changes or tweeking needed. Also, by no means cut the recipe in half, you will just be mad when it runs out...and it will run out. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I'll give this recipe 5 stars ONLY because I followed M. O'Brien's additional instructions, which really helped make it clear that the mixture has to be boiled to 234 a SECOND time, and she/he described what to look for as it's boiling down. Thanks to both SPLACE and M. O'Brien for a yummy caramel recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Amazing!! Easy to follow and turned out SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is so easy to burn. Which happened with my first try. I was letting it come up to temperature and it looked good, and I took it off the stove to do the water test, and it burnt. The next time I let it get to 90C, and dropped some into cold water. It didn't ball up, and it was rock hard. When I took it out of the water, it wasn't soft. I thought I'd over cooked it, even though it was still a clear color. I took it off the heat added milk (I had homo on hand, no cream), and margarine (no butter, it's bad for you). I put the pan back on the stove and let it cook some more. The caramel tasted buttery and good, but it wasn't thick. After a couple of days in an air tight container in the fridge, it has thickened up and has nice color. It's delicious over ice cream, apples, and drizzled over apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States