Caramel for Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is a good caramel sauce for apples, which is what it is marketed as. Some of the reviews on here made me think that it would harden to make caramel apples, which it didn't. It's definitely a caramel sauce. Still looking for the perfect caramel apple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I don't know why everyone is raving. this syrup will not thicken up even after boiling for 15 minutes. it tastes might good though but it will not coat an apple whatsoever. Does anyone know where I went wrong? I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was way too soupy. It didn't really harden up. It tasted great, but couldn't really be eaten by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I am giving this four stars because, as other reviewers mentioined, the directions lack a lot of details. I have a digital thermometer and got the sugar and corn syrup up to 234 degrees as other reviewers recommended. Then I added about a cup and a half of fat free half and half and a half cup of skim milk (because I didn't have enough half and half). I returned to a boil and boiled for about 15 minutes or until the mixture returned to 234 degrees (per other reviews). It did take on a caramel color, although it was more opaque than I thought it would be. We waited until it got to around 200 degrees and then dipped 8 large apples in it. The caramel eventually fell off the first apple, so I think next time I'd let it cool even a little less than 200 degrees. My husband did say it tasted just like Werther's candy and the apples were a hit. They did stick to the wax paper that I put them on and I will try parchement next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I have never made caramel before and mine came out grainy and lumpy and when it cooled I had to chip it off of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I'm giving it 4 stars as I made it for an ice cream topping and I don't think it's better than some brands I've bought in a store. It was good and I'm sure it would be perfectly suited for dipping fruit. Also, I don't have a candy thermometer so I did the best I could and I'm pretty sure I got it right. For those who don't have the thermometer, basically just boil it for a long time. I probably took 20+ minutes altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momlovestocook
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is seriously good caramel, I couldn't find my candy thermometer but it still turned out perfect, boiled for 10 minutes or so after adding the butter and cream like others. I dipped apples and poured the leftover caramel on parchment and cut and wrapped in parchment to make caramel candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
One major omission in this recipe is the amount of time you should cook it. Cook Time says 20 min. but that is not included anywhere in the directions of the recipe. After adding the butter and cream I cooked it at med. high heat for about 10 min. stirring constantly and slowly until it began to get a caramel color. THEN I took it off the stove, added the vanilla and dipped the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Tastes great! Thank you M.O. Your additional instructions helped tremendously! When I tried this recipe, I wanted to find something to coat an apple for an apple dipping party AND something that would make a tasty caramel. This fit the bill spectacularly. I made the sauce and re-heated it a few times to coat the apples. It didn't break and it tasted wonderful. I accidentally omitted the vanilla and that made it taste like Werther's even more, to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
AWESOME! I didn't have heavy cream, so I tried substituting a cup of whipping cream and a cup of 2% milk. I was surprised how good this turned out! I also boiled about 15 minutes after adding the butter & cream/milk to get the right viscosity. Tastes like Werther's Original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States