Caramel for Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
this recipe was way too liquidly and not sweet enough! It was not a good choice to make, especially with the apples. they did not compliment each other nicely and were a major disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I followed other reviewers instructions for the making of the caramel. Basically, after the butter and milk are added, I cooked and stirred until it became the consistency of thick caramel. For those who reported runny caramel, you simply didn't cook it long enough. I used a candy thermometer as a guide, but I believe you can make this recipe using your own judgment, basing your decisions on the texture of the caramel. When you add the vanilla, it takes on the beautiful coloring that we all know and love! I placed the apples in the freezer for approx. 15 min. prior to dipping to help the caramel cling to the apple...that worked perfectly...no messy dripping. I also waited for the caramel to cool to 200-degrees as suggested by another reviewer...perfect! This caramel tastes so much better than the melted, wrapped caramels. And I always disliked having to unwrap each of the pieces in the bag. I was skeptical about this recipe, so I only made 1/2 as written and it yielded 4 medium sized caramel apples, which was perfect for me and hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I gave this 3 stars because the directions are unclear. Sadly, I didn't read the reviews before making this and it was an epic fail. Sauce is way too thin, even after following the instructions precisely. It tastes good, but was hoping for a sauce that was think enough to dunk apple slices in or as a sauce for ice cream. Don't know if it can be salvaged at this point. Maybe by adding more sugar and bringing back to a boil it can be saved. As is, it might be okay as a syrup for ice cream, just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
A little thin, but lasts a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is a REAL caramel recipe...not one that calls for unwrapping store bought candies and melting. Simple recipe but does require you to babysit the entire time. I added ten extra minutes to the final cook stage to get a richer color. The taste is amazing, no changes or tweeking needed. Also, by no means cut the recipe in half, you will just be mad when it runs out...and it will run out. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I'll give this recipe 5 stars ONLY because I followed M. O'Brien's additional instructions, which really helped make it clear that the mixture has to be boiled to 234 a SECOND time, and she/he described what to look for as it's boiling down. Thanks to both SPLACE and M. O'Brien for a yummy caramel recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Amazing!! Easy to follow and turned out SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is so easy to burn. Which happened with my first try. I was letting it come up to temperature and it looked good, and I took it off the stove to do the water test, and it burnt. The next time I let it get to 90C, and dropped some into cold water. It didn't ball up, and it was rock hard. When I took it out of the water, it wasn't soft. I thought I'd over cooked it, even though it was still a clear color. I took it off the heat added milk (I had homo on hand, no cream), and margarine (no butter, it's bad for you). I put the pan back on the stove and let it cook some more. The caramel tasted buttery and good, but it wasn't thick. After a couple of days in an air tight container in the fridge, it has thickened up and has nice color. It's delicious over ice cream, apples, and drizzled over apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Really, really yummy---watch carefully so you don't have a messy boil over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste Holda Lux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made 250 caramel apples for a school carnival using this recipe and they were a huge hit! Needless to say, I worked out all of the problems before attempting so many. Those who complain that it's just a sauce didn't cook it long enough. The first cooking faze is fast (approx 10 min) but after you add the cream & butter, it took a consistent 20-25 min to reach 230-232 degrees. I found 234 to 240 made the caramel too hard for an apple, but 230 to 232 was perfect. Use parchment paper, not waxed. I picked my apples so didn't have the wax problem. (Honeycrisp!) I washed them, dried them, and kept them very cold right until they were dipped. This helps the caramel cool faster. I also had 2 other people there so I could quickly dip (I didn't wait for the extra to run off) and hand them off to empty hands who held them, turning them this way and that so the caramel didn't drip off. After about one minute the caramel was set enough they could place them on the paper and none of the apples had the caramel sluff off. My husband made quite a few by himself so when the caramel got to the point it wouldn't stick, he just put it back on the stove on low until it melted to the desired consistency again. Make sure your thermometer is accurate and check your pan. Mine had a steel bottom so even after I removed it from the heat at 230, it cooked to 236 which was too hard. Don't give up. This is awesome caramel!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States