Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This is the first time I've ever made flan from scratch and it tastes exactly like the first time I had it at a restaurant! One hint... do NOT stir the sugar when it's caramelizing (sp?). It will be VERY clumpy! Make sure the pan you're baking it in is already in the hot water before putting ANYTHING into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This flan came out PERFECT! The only alteration I made was increasing the sugar to 1 cup. [As a side note to those of you who have never made caramel before: You should only stir the sugar occasionally. Constantly stirring will cause the sugar to crystalize.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
The sauce was BITTER! I was so embarrased serving this awful mess. If you do try this, make sure to not let the sugar get very brown at all.....the recipe directions should have been more specific on the carmelizing step, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I have made this twice. The second time I added 1/2 pkg of cream cheese and cooked it for 1 1/2 hours on high in the crock pot. After letting it chill overnight in the fridge I turned it out on a platter and it was beautiful!!! I served it to my extended family. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe that I have made several times in the last couple of months. My Dad and my boyfriend are both flan lovers, and both think this is a great recipe. Whenever I have dinner with my parents, I take two flans to their house, one for dessert and one just for Dad! I did try increasing the sugar to one cup, and the caramel stuck to the pan, so I will probably stick with the 3/4 cup. Thank you for the tip about not stirring the sugar. I was dying to stir it the first time, but didn't. My second attempt, I stirred it, and it got icky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a first attempt and it turned out fabulous. I took the advice of not stirring to carmelize and had no problems. I used a small pyrex bowl and set it in a large oven safe bowl so that the water completely covered the custard bowl to bake. Not quite as firm as the restaraunt but he flavor was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This flan is AWESOME!!! I used 1 cup of sugar as another member suggested, and it turned out perfect!!!! This flan is just like my mom's, and I would definitely make it again!!!!! Maybe I'll even make it for her!!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is the best flan ever and so easy to make! I made it last night; my husband told me that its taste better than the restaurant a lot; and he hog the whole plate. He also suggested that next time I should cook the caramel sugar a little bit longer, which will give a slightly bitter taste to enhance the sweetness of the flan. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was great, and very simple. It's very good traditional flan. I baked them in individual dishes instead of the 9 inch round, and it made about 8 ramekins. I needed about 1/4 cup extra sugar to carmelize in order to make all 8. Because they were in the small dishes the cooking time was cut by about 15 min. It was very good with only 2-3 hours in the refrigerator, but next day was much better. Next time I will probably add a couple more eggs, because I like it just a little creamier. I will definitely make this recipe many more times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Perfection! Just as is, this recipe is a really tasty, smooth, delicious treat. And it could not be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States