Caramel Filled Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I used Toffifee and peanut butter cups instead of caramel and it worked very well. It's a little tedious wrapping the dough around the candy but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
When I first made these, I used half-inch cubes of hard plain caramel candy and wrapped the dough into little balls around the caramel. Because I am allergic to nuts, I had to omit them. I decided to omit the cocoa powder and up the vanilla extract a tiny bit in half of my dough to make a basic vanilla version, and dipped them in some sprinkles before popping them in the oven. Fresh out of the oven, the caramel was warm and runny, which complemented the cookie itself very well. Once they cooled off, however, the caramel hardened back up, which made the cookies a little difficult to eat. Regardless, I brought them to school one time and nearly all of them disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I have made these for years and my Grandchildren love them....I agree I use Rolos also and they are a pain to unwrap. I think I will try a little sea salt sprinkled on top like Lisa suggested. thank you for sharing I keep my hands damp and the dough does not stick to my hands so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Absolutely Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photojenny25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Amazing recipe. I love that its versatile enough to put different types of candies in the middle. Thanks for the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These cookies were very yummy. However they were difficult to work with as the dough is very sticky. So don't reinvent the wheel in this process, this is what I found to work. Helpful Hints: First, I used a caramel nut cluster candy from Walgreens and had to half it, so I did not use walnuts in my batch. But I think a Rolo would work better. I did refrigerate the dough overnight. As stated it was sticky, which made rolling the "ball" out difficult. So I wised up after a few and coated my palms and fingers with margarine, which made it so much easier to roll the dough! I didn't divide the dough up equally, I just scooped a golf ball size dough, split that in 1/2 then sandwiched the candy, then rolled into the ball. When baking, spacing is key! Don't place too close together, or it's a bear getting the cookies apart. Also, don't use a cookie sheet that will warp when in the oven or all your cookies will slide together and you'll end up with a mess. I found 8 minutes was not long enough to cook but I found 10 to be perfect! Let cool on cookie sheet until the cookie sheet can be comfortably touched with a bare hand, but not totally cool, then transfer to wax paper, as any sooner the cookie just squished because it wasn't cool enough, and if I left it on too long the caramel that baked through was too hard and stuck to the pan, even with it greased. So, that was my experience. Now I know the tricks, I will make again! Good luck & happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made them yesterday and worried that they would be too sweet....they are wonderful! Not too sweet at all. I put a rolo in them and I would definitely like to try with other candies. Will definitely be on my XMas Cookie list to make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
soooo good! like others i did not put in the refrigerator and had no problems handling the dough. i got 31 cookies out of the recipe. i used a store brand 'caramel cup' inside the cookie which are like the reeses fun sized cups. i will definatly make again with candy variations. i had no leakage issues while cooking or when i put them on the cooling rack. i just made sure to let them sit the 4 min before transfering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I baked these for a friend's annual Cookie Swap and they were the biggest hit!! I followed the recipe exactly, and used Dove caramel filled candies. A bit time consuming, but absolutely worth it!! I will definitely bake these again!! YUMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Caramilk bars work the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States