Caramel Filled Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My dear departed grandmother always made these cookies. We called them rolo cookies. The only difference is we used chopped pecans but you don't add it to the cookie mixture. You just dip the top into the sugar and nut mixture. I usually make half with nuts and half without. A lot of people don't like the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gibsonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I used Caramel filled Dove chocolates, which were much better than the others I tried. Perfect size and delicious. Don't overbake these cookies. 8 minutes was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Do you need the walnuts for these cookies? Or are they optional?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The chocolate-covered caramels I used didn't flatten out when baked so it made for a really hard center. The dough in this recipe is just okay, not great. I think the concept of this cookie could be a good idea, this just isn't the kind of recipe I am going to keep for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Delicious and well worth all the extra effort this cookie takes. Some changes that I made were to use 1/2 butter, 1/2 butter flavor Crisco. I also upped the cocoa by 1/4 cup and I always, always, always use parchment paper when I bake. With this cookie, it's a must. If a couple of cookies "burst", you will not have a pan to scrub, the parchment will contain the mess. But if you bake these for no more than 8 minutes, bursting should not be an issue. Let them cool for 5-10 minutes before removing from the cooling rack so they can set up. These were a huge hit last year at our annual cookie exchange and I have been ordered to make them again this year! Oh, and one more thing, if you use pecans in place of the walnuts (though both are divine!), you will have more of a "turtle" cookie, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have been making this recipe for 3 years now, and this year I decided to try it out with different caramel filled chocolate candies. I tried large rolos, small rolos, caramilk bar squares, and reisen. While the rolos are good, the caramilk bar squares win out BY FAR! Although they seem awkward when you're trying to roll them in to a cookie, it's well worth it. The caramel is gooeyer and it doesn't leak out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
yes I loved it! I added 1/2 tsp. salt took a couple pans to get the right amount of dough to cover the caramel. Added additional 1/4 cup cocoa. a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
GREAT cookies!!! Especially for my caramel-lovers here at home! Eat fast, the cocoa powder makes them dry out in a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Yum! Used rolos and chilled the dough a bit to make it less sticky. I actually had a guy at work offer me money to make these for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I absolutely loved the texture of this cookie! I used Halloween caramels and they were absolutely fantastic for this recipe, except they can toughen up after the cookies cool. However, I definitely advise adding salt to this recipe because the chocolate flavor can fall a bit flat without it. Aside from this, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivingBreathing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States