Caramel-Filled Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
My family love these cookies, but they are a pain to make. Here are some tips I picked up over the years making them. The dough will really stick to your hands at first, but as you make more cookies they will not..you get a nice layer of oil on your hands. So make all the balls at once if you have the room. Also, don't bake these cookies on a stone, they just don't turn out as well. Finally, let them really cool on the the tray first. then when you take them off the cookie tray put them on wax paper. If you put them on wire racks the carmel can oozz out. These are great cookies. I hope you give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Burgart-Schrader

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Absolutely the best cookies I have ever made. My husband said so too. One tip, sticking unwrapped rolos in the freezer (about 20 minutes) seemed to help with the caramel oozing out problem because it stayed right in the middle for me. (I also skipped the pecans and the drizzle on top and they were still fantastic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great recipe! My kids said these were amazing. The only thing I changed was putting the Rolos in the freezer for 30 minutes before wrapping them in the dough. The caramel only oozed out of 1 cookie. I also put powder sugar on my fingers before touching the dough. It will keep the dough from sticking to your fingers. This recipe will definately be on my list of yummy goodies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My family LOVES this recipe!!! I have been using it for years. I use 1 cup of sugar in the cookies(to make the measuring easier). All my other measurments are the same. After I have mixed up the dough I cover it with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 30 minutes to set the dough. Then it is easier to handle and make into balls around the rolos. I also omit the pecans and just roll he balls into sugar and then drizzle with white chocolate when done cooking. These cookies are always a hit. Be sure to let them cool a little on the pan before moving to a rack or the carmel will ooze out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This were absolutely delicious. I read the reviews and followed others' suggestions: I froze the Rolos for 20-30 minutes and refrigerated the dough for a half hour before assembly. The rolos didn't burst during baking and the dough was easier to work with, though still a tad sticky. I measured out almost exactly a tablespoon of dough for each rolo (scooped it out with a tablespoon and scraped off the excess) and it was the perfect amount because I ended up with over 60 cookies. Odd that the recipe says the yield was only 30. The cookies definitely taste better after they've cooled because the caramel gets much gooier. These were a hit with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This were not as big a pain to make as I thought. They are very pretty and taste great. I baked them on parchment and had no issues with them sticking. I also took the advice to freeze the Rolos and that worked great. I used white almond bark to drizzle on top. I heated water, took it off the stove, put a couple squares of the almond bark in a zip lock bag, put the bag in the water until the bark is melted. All you have to do is snip off a small corner of the bag and use it like a pastry bag to drizzle over the cookies. When you are done, just throw the zip lock away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I just finished these. My family loved them. They taste like a brownie I used Hershey Carmel filled Kisses when i ran out of the Rolos. The Hershey Kisses made a softer cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
These cookies were amazing! My husband isnt a huge fan of chocolate and even he loved them. The only thing I will do next time I make the recipe is leave out the pecans. They dont really do anything for the recipe and seem a pointless addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I have made these on numerous occasions and they are ALWAYS a hit! Definitely easier if you freeze/chill the rolos beforehand so they do not explode when baking, and I prefer to chill the dough a bit too- makes it a little easier to work with. They're a bit messy to make but WELL worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I had a difficult time with this recipe. I am not a baker so I'm sure that had something to do with it. I put too much dough around the Rolo and therefore only ended up with 10 cookies. The dough was really hard to mix so I didn't add the nuts, but did sprinkle them on top. I had some difficulty getting the dough to stay closed over the Rolo so I had to keep washing my hands and putting flour on them. I was tired of working with the cookies so I ended up not putting the white chocolate on top. I think the cookies would have tasted better if they were smaller and therefore closer to the Rolo center. Over all it was a good recipe, but I probably won't make it again and if so, I'll allow myself more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States