Caramel Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
tasted wonderful & nice 'n firm. I doubled the recipe. However, I used canned evaporated milk since i didn't have whipping cream, and it worked out perfect. Also used 1/3 less sugar. Never got to try the brown sugar since someone here ate most of it. haha.. next time i'll try the brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was delicious. I used 8 four-ounce ramekins. An internet search offered tips to get custard to set: Bring water to a simmer. Place ramekins on a silicon mat in a roasting pan. Add water to the pan until it is even with the level of the custard mix. Bake until the centers of the custards are barely set, not sloshy but a little jiggly. The center should read about 170 - 175 deg F. Transfer the ramekins to a wire rack to cool to room temperature, about 2 hours. Then transfer to a rimmed baking sheet, cover tightly with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until cold - at least 4 hours or up to 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
What a treat this recipe was! I have some 1 cup (size) pyrex oven safe containers and this recipe made 4 which was perfect for my husband and I! Cook time was way off though. Even in those small containers it took an hour and a half to cook. I also experienced the "foam" another reviewer did after whipping everything together and mine did NOT disspate after 5 minutes. (After 15 had gone by I said "what the heck" and spooned them into the glass cups and cooked them-they turned out fine by the way.) We also tried this 2 ways. My husband tried it cold straight out of the fridge and loved it. I then tried broiling the sugar on top and serving it that way-he loved that way too! Told me he definately wanted me to make it again so it is going in my 'keeper' file! Thanks for the great recipe Yvonne!...*smile*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
After following the instructions and waiting for the timer to ring I checked the custard at 55 minutes and it was still very runny. After an extra half hour plus of cooking it was still runny, knife not coming out clean. Meanwhile the top got too dark. I pulled it out and chilled it and as I was dishing it up the oils had separated or something because it very watery. I didn't even taste it. My husband tried it and said the oils coated his tongue like a previous reviewer said. Maybe I just don't know how to make a custard properly, but I followed these instructions and it was a flop. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Absolutely fantastic. The custard isn't too sweet. If you decide you can't wait for the whole chilling and carmel-ing process...try with sprinkling a couple tbsp of cinnamon/sugar mix (like you would use for cinnamon toast) over the top..grab a spoon and dig in. Do not broil if your custard is warm. You will get char...you have been warned:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I too followed the recipe but wasn't firm like I wanted it to be. Very great flavor and easy recipe when you are looking to use left over egg yolks. I would try it again and try to find ways to make more firm, but I did love the creaminess and texture of the custard and the sugar . Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Oh, WOW!!!! This was too dang tasty and I will definitely make it again! Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
wow, so creamy! extra delish! recommend a butane torch to top them, a la creme brule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clcasas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
our only regret is that it was so little and I didn't know if it doubled well. so after slaving all day on it;-) the eight of us sat around after delicately devouring it and wished there was more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States