Caramel Corn IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Love this recipe.... here's an extra hint to make it even better. When making the caramel, add paste food colouring to it to change the colour! For example, Red or green at Christmas, Purple for Easter, Green for St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn McCreath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Very easy and super tasty!!! Took it to work for a fund raiser and it sold out very fast. They all requested more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This was an awesome recipe. It tastes just like the Cracker Jacks I used to have as a child. I varied the recipe by adding Cashews. Just a note the amount of popping corn called for was REALLY unrealistic. I Used 2 Cups of Popping corn and that worked out really well. Using 4 cups produced WAY to much Popped corn. (After all how would anyone in a common home (and I have 7 in my family) have a baking dish large enough to accomodate THAT much pop corn.?) The recipe itself was amazingly easy and I found it to be consumed in a matter of minutes. We will be making this on many cold winter Alaskan nights. (served while still really warm was an added treat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
This is a very good recipe for those who have a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Extremely tasty treat! I used 1 bag of microwave popcorn and the amount of popcorn was perfect. I couldn't see using anymore because it wouldn't get coated. I added peanuts to the caramel before pouring it on the popcorn and it was just fabulous. We couldn't keep our hands out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Very tasty and easy recipe. I used microwave popcorn...one bag seemed to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This recipe is very easy to make but also easy to mess up (in more ways than one). It takes 3 very large pans,(I used a 5qt. dutch oven, a large saucepan, and a roasting pan), a measuring cup,measuring spoon, a couple of spoons/spatulas to stir, and a very large container with lid to store it in. I had to use a steel wool pad to clean up my saucepan from the caramel sauce. So, be aware, there is quite a bit of clean up. Also, follow the recipe EXACTLY. I was distracted and messed up two batches. pretty badly. One -I let the popcorn sit out too long and it wasn't warm when "I tried to mix in the caramel sauce. Did not mix up at all. It just clumped up in wads of hard caramel;not coating the corn at all. Totally my fault, but it was not forgiving at all. Once I got it right, it was very good but I think I would've preferred a little MORE caramel coating. But, it is pretty cool to make fresh homemade caramel corn, so I will use this recipe again, I am sure. Maybe, for Christmas gifts next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I loved this caramel corn! The only thing I'll do differently next time is use less popcorn; only about 1/4 of the pieces were coated, and another 1/2 had only a little coating on them, so there was lot of popcorn that didn't get any caramel on it. My family has a huge sweet tooth, so we like every piece to be caramelly. Otherwise, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
This is delicious and sooo easy to make!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Goodview, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This was very easy to make. I sprayed the roasting pan and the bowl that the caramel corn cooled off in after cooking with non-stick cooking spray, which helped tremendously with clean-up. I also doubled the caramel sauce recipe to make sure that all the popcorn was coated, but I may cut it down to 1 1/2 times the caramel for next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States