Caramel Corn IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I love this recipe!! I have made it many times and it always comes out perfect. I do cheat and use a bag of microwave popcorn though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Yummy, yummy, yummy!!! This was so easy and good. I will definitely make this again and again. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a roasting pan lined with foil (sprayed with cooking spray). I also placed a large cookie sheet under the roasting pan to ensure that it wouldn't burn. I removed it from the oven and mixed it up every 10 minutes. It did take a total of 30 minutes to bake. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Cook
Home Town: Clinton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Delish recipe, but i used 1/2 cup popcorn instead of 1 cup, and i used air popper to pop it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This recipe is SO GOOD! Only complaint is that the portion size is HUGE. Way larger than I expected. Next time I'll make half a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
One of the problems with the allrecipes culture is that individuals rate recipes with alterations. This recipe is often given 5 stars IF you double the sauce, bake it at a lower temperature, use less corn, use airpopped corn etc. If you follow the recipe, which is poorly written in many respects, the rating is more accurately 1 star. The one large flaw in the recipe is the direction to "boil" the sugar sauce for 5 minutes. Any butter/sugar sauced boiled for that long will scorch; as mine did. The sauce should be brought to a boil then reduced to a simmer for 5 minutes. Also, the recipe says to pour the sauce over the popcorn and then bake. Nowhere does it say to stir THEN bake. This is, of course, obvious to someone who has made carmel corn before, but the lack of precision in the recipe demonstrates, once again, how this recipe, as it stands, is NOT deserving of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Very yummy but easy to mess it up too. I had one batch that tasted burned even though it did not look burnt and another batch that did not cover all the popped corn. I doubled the sauce recipe and then added the sauce a little at a time until all was covered. I did not use all the extra sauce. I was very good especially with peanuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This recipe IS super simple to make. I made the caramel as per the recipe (using air popped corn instead of stove top in oil) for my first batch, and there was not near enough caramel to cover the corn, it looked as though the edges had just been brushed with caramel, not coated like the majority of us picture traditional caramel corn. I doubled the caramel recipe for the remaining batches and they all turned out fabulously! I used a metal turkey roasting pan to mix the caramel corn in and it worked perfectly. A few variations that I tried with following batches... 1) Add 1/2-1tsp cinnamon to caramel before it boils. 2) Add 1-2 cups mixed nuts (salted or unsalted) to popcorn before adding caramel 3) During your final 'stir', mix in 1/2-1 cup chocolate chips. Will not coat popcorn but will 'streak' chocolate throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very easy and tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali Imel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This came out great! After reading the reviews, we used air-popped corn, doubled the sauce, turned the oven down to 275ish, stirred every 5 minutes, and only cooked it about 15 minutes total. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Halo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I've done this a few times and it gets more delicious every time I make it. I always think I've made way too much and then bam! all the caramel corn is eaten up. I don't really use measurements after the first time and have only messed it up once out of maybe 7x. I use yellow air-popped corn and maple syrup instead of corn syrup, the difference in the taste is well worth it. I increase the amount of caramel sauce in the recipe to give a little more coverage on the corn and suggest keeping the popcorn and the caramel sauce warm until you are ready to pour. I suggest putting the sauce on a low burner while you stir. With these adjustments this recipe went from tasty to scrumptious in no time. Oh, clean up actually pretty easy. A non-stick pan helps, but I soak the sauce pan, spatula, and big mixing bowl in water for a while (no detergent needed) and the sticky mixture rinses right out. A little swish and all clean. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States