Caramel Corn III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I was looking for a different recipe, but made these for a fundraiser. They taste exactly like the Crunch-stuff in the stores. I omitted the nuts but no one noticed. I rated as a 4 because I too had to make a second batch of syrup and would have liked it to cover better. Packaged in clear bags and Christmas ribbons, they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is almost perfect .. I used light brown sugar and the only adjustment I made was adding 1/2 tsp vanilla (not imitation) to the caramel before the baking soda. I also only used 11 cups of popped corn and baked it at 225 for an hour and 15 minutes. Totally amazing and totally delicious. My niece and nephew went through a big bowl in nothing flat and he (learning to talk) got really good at saying "More please"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Delicious! I have never made caramel corn before and I have to say I was a bit intimidated by it. However after using this recipe I will be making it again and again. I had to double the caramel recipe to evenly coat the popcorn and I only used about 1/2 Tblspn of baking soda all together (per other reviewers). I also found that the oven needed to be set at 300 degrees to keep the caramel soft enough to stir plus I only needed it to be in the oven for about 30min for it to be evenly coated with out burning. All in all a wonderfull recipie that my family loves! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, and found that it has really good flavor, and really was easy. I will definitely be making it again. The one thing I did discover was that 1 1/2 cups of kernels made WAY to much popcorn for me. There wasn't enough caramel for it all, plus the amount of popcorn I ended up with was difficult to deal with. It was to much to mix, so I ended up with lots of large caramel clumps, and it took 3 cookie sheets in the oven. Next time I make it I will only use1/2 the kernels. Then it should just be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I agreed with many reviews about not enough caramel. I added pecans and doubled the sauce, which was perfect. I also baked it in my roasting pan so that I could turn the popcorn without it spilling all over the oven. Lastly, I did bake at 300. Yummy, great to put in a tin and give as a little gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I frequently take a batch to get togethers and it's always a hit. I make two regular bags of Orville Redenbacher microwave popcorn and put the caramel over it. I bake it all in my Dutch roasting pan (big oval with high sides). Clean up is easy if you put the pan in hot water. It's sweet, salty, crunchy, the perfect snack food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookincarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I had also 'lost' my recipe that I had been making since my kids (now ages 39,37 and 35 yrs!!) were home. Now, one was asking for it! As usual, AllRecipies had it! Thank goodness...the only change I would make would be to use an air popper for the corn. I also put mine in a large roaster pan instead of several cookie sheets. Works just fine...mmmm good stuff. You can also add some peanuts for a great immitation of that old, popcorn, peanut snack we all grew up on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Excellent!, I did triple the caramel sauce for the amount of popcorn.Had complete coverage of the popcorn. I did not have the problems most of the reviews suggested. Superb taste. Great crunch. Exactly the reciepe I was looking for. Will add to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
right on the money followed it all the way with the exception on the oven temp 200 degrees was not hot enough so i put it on 300 and it was fine. just keep an eye on it and mix it very well and it will coat all the popcorn. nice job rosemary will be using this at christmas time thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
very good recipe turns out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States