Caramel Coated Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Loved tjis recipie. Very easy and full of flavor. My husband doesn't like fish but he liked this. I gave my kids the fish after cooking in the sauce (without the sauce afterwards) and they both liked it too. Great recipie! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a very simple dish, if all the prep is done, then it takes about 20 minutes. There is a trick not mentioned here; after you caramelize the sugar, the water you add needs to be hot, otherwise that sugar will clump and stick to everything. You can wait until it remelts, but trust me, adding hot water is easier. I also wonder if you need to add so much water at the beginning when caramelizing the sugar, since it really doesn't start browning until most of the water has evaporated. I found I had to add hot water in small amounts as I cooked the fish, so it didn't get too thick or burn. I did not have to cook it down at all. I don't think the green onions and cilantro at the end add too much, other than that a fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Didn't turn out anything like it looks in the picture. It was so mushy and wet. I dried the fish on paper towel before I cooked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Absolutely fantastic. The catfish looked pretty iffy at the market so I substituted haddock. If I made it again I would decrease the pepper- I enjoyed the recipe as is but it had too much bite for my kids. This is a recipe I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
OhMyGosh! I followed the recipe exactly and this dish does a dance in your mouth and made us all smile so big. It is DELICIOUS! I paired it with some stir fried noodles. For this Southern Boy who mostly fries his catfish in cornmeal, this was a stretch, but NO REGRETS. Give it a try. You will be amazed at how wonderful it is! Promise....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I had some Swai fish (Vietnamese catfish) and I decided to give this recipe a try. It was delicious! A little too sweet, but I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I was afraid this was going to be too sweet but it wasn't. I didn't have fish sauce so I substituted Worcestershire sauce (as it is made from anchovies I've been told) and it added enough saltiness not to have to add anymore. The deep mahogany color is beautiful and the flavor is like a teriyaki sauce but more complex. I cut down on the cooking time just a bit (about 3-1/2 minutes each side) and it came out fine. I also left out the cilantro but that's because I thought the taste would overpower the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
pretty good....used brown sugar... and white onion from the garden...kids didn't know if they liked it or not....but then again they aren't big fish eaters....served over brown rice....cilantro on top was my favorite.....;)...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erynn77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Wow! Best fish I've had in a long time. Thanks for the great recipe! My boyfriend was a skeptic about caramelized fish sauce but it was beautiful! I found the sauce to be a bit spicy for my taste so I think I will reduce the amount of pepper flakes and black pepper the next time. I also used raw sugar instead of white (we try to eat a little more organically around here) and it still worked fine. I also squeezed fresh lime juice onto the final dish in addition to the lime in the sauce. And I don't think the cilantro is necessary though we used it and it was still good. Beautiful recipe! We'll definitely be eating this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is definitely a keeper. I substituted the shallots for 1/2 a white onion. I also substituted lemon for lime and did not have any cilantro. It still came out great! Thanks Everret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States